April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Triangle Revolution

by daubers - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I tried to be minimalist in the development of the game, so this is as minimal as I could think of that wasn't Tic-Tac-Toe!

This is my first Ludum Dare entry and the first game I've built that isn't on a ZXSpectrum....

You are a proud Triangle, and now you must fight the oppressive forces of the Squares and the evil Circles!

Good Luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#434Fun3.12
#437Theme3.65
#800Overall2.94
#963Audio1.93
#1205Graphics2.12
#1276Innovation1.94
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:01pm

That was freaking cool man, felt very Star Wars dogfighty. Those circles love to clump together though.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Cool game, well Done! :)

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I Love this game because it reminds me of my nerdy teacher's favorite movie

fussycashew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Really liked this one! Not so fond of spawning within enemies, and I wish they wouldn't fly through walls at me, but otherwise it's very fun! I think I had the entirety of the circle fighters trailing me at one point...

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58pm

good game, story and idea, but the SOUNDS!!!

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

This has to be one of the most addictive entries for me, very nice.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Wow! This game is very cool! An old school shooter that gave me a lot of fun!!! Excelent work! The only thing that i can suggest is to change the color of the shots of the player's "ship", i think that in this way the game could appear less confusing.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:58am

On Windows, I kept having the game crash. One time, I had <200 circles and <50 squares remaining, and the game crashed without warning. As far as I could tell, this seemed to be when I went off the right/bototm boundaries.

Also, some sort of radar system would be great (or even just displaying x/y coordinates on screen), because when you get down to low numbers of enemies remaining, it's very hard to find anyone else. It's also hard to get back to a cluster of squares after you have to flee to fend off a circle swarm since there's no way to remember where they are unless they're by a piece of wall/land.

Otherwise, great game. I and have to ask, does anything worthwhile happen if you manage to kill everything? After that last crash, I don't have the patience to try again.

fermcg says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:56am

Really enjoyed it

daubers says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:09am

@SnoringFrog You get a "HOORAY! You Win! Screen" Thats about it tbh! I'm trying to reproduce the crash to see if I can see what's up. Agree on the Radar idea too :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]