April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Black

by Purplescape - Jam Entry

You must save your village friends from being transformed by the evil Dark Black in this short adventure game.

Extract the DarkBlack.zip file and run the DarkBlack.exe to play.

Controls:
Left click to use cursor.
Right click to change cursor.
You can access the menu by hovering the mouse at the top of the screen.

Programming and sound by dactylopus
Art by Purplescape

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#84Graphics(Jam)3.96
#104Humor(Jam)2.95
#130Mood(Jam)3.42
#202Audio(Jam)3.12
#230Overall(Jam)3.26
#287Fun(Jam)2.84
#408Theme(Jam)2.85
#433Innovation(Jam)2.40

Comments

mortl8324 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I don't know if I am just an idiot, but I had difficulty doing simple things like just moving around....

Dabuuker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Very cool artwork. The interface is a bit clumsy but I guess that goes with a retro Point and Click. Great job!

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Fetch a potato? *slow clap*

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Quite fun! Sometimes the order in which you had to do things wasn't always clear, but it's an adventure game, so I can't be too much of a stickler. Music was decent; it fit the mood, but got a little on my nerves at the end. Also, much of the time I couldn't tell what an item was. It wasn't until the end of the game that I figured out that the red lump was a minimalizer gun.

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Cool! Space quest has returned! I really liked the plot and art. Dark Black is cool. Nice ending .)

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I struggled a lot at the beginning to move and interact, but finally, it was a good story :) Nice artwork too !

wy477wh173 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Potato! Even though not potato! Liked it, solid job.

Argembarger says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Took me a while to figure out that I could move by clicking instead of with the arrow keys. Otherwise, pretty neat little point-and-click. It had a good atmosphere

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12pm

I'm stuck :'(

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Wow, love the look of the game which is really important for adventure games! I agree with the others that the controls were a bit of a challenge to wrestle, but once you get past that it's a really enjoyable experience!

I wish the steps needed for some of the tasks were more obvious, and I know that adventure games often have this... "feature" but it is a bit unruly to have to try stuff until it works for seemingly no reason xD

All in all, really well executed game!

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Yeah! I completed the game! I liked the art and the balanced puzzles. Good overall performance!

Shugor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43pm

I really liked the puzzles in this game, although it took me forever to figure out how to open the items menu. The art was really nice too and i liked how the potato became important near the end. Good job for a 72 hour jam!

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Cool game, loved the overall mood, was fun, awesome pixel art. The interface was giving me some problems. Overall awesome game.

matter123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24pm

really hard to move around, jerky

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30pm

I had trouble figuring out how to progress past the transportation hub. The guys just kept wanting to shoot me. Very good music and graphics...and way to include a potato! :)

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38pm

@matter123 Are you using the arrow keys to move? Try using the mouse walk icon instead.

Thanks for the comments everyone, dactylopus and myself really appreciate the feedback!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Like the graphics. walking isn't working really well for me, makes it hard to play.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:41pm

A fairly short but well-crafted point'n'click adventure. The game has some nice art, a quirky soundtrack, and a few confusing but still sensible puzzles. Seems to have a good amount of effort into it, and a good amount of charm.

Cosine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Really neat, in depth game. One of the few full-graphics games in this LD with a good story.

May 1, 2013 @ 6:17am

nice game, it was fun, you did a great job

Jyrkface says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:35am

Has to be my favorite potato reference so far! Really nice backgrounds too!

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:38am

Good game! I like the graphic and concept great job! :)

kyyninen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:44am

Puzzles were a bit basic "use everything you have with everything you see," but given the time limit it can be forgiven. Good use of hero's journey, though more stages would have been appreciated!

myachin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:54am

nice game 5/5

May 1, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I didn't even get past those guards. Tried to use the three objects on everything possible, but I didn't get anywhere with it. Which is sad because I'm really curious how the story continues.
But I guess this first impression was good enough to justify a pretty positive rating nontheless.

NuSan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:19pm

I love it, great graphics and mood, i like the musics and sounds fx too. It's following the usual adventure style too much, but real fun.

Starspell says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:43pm

A pretty long and content filled game for a LD. The graphics were great and the music was pretty good. Overall it was a pretty good game. I was expecting an explosion at the end though.

Beldarak says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:15am

Great art style and music, the mood is simply excellent.

Tifu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:39am

Good job! I actually managed to beat it without looking for help, that never happens with me and adventure games =P

PixelIndigo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:29am

Quest!!!

dremelofdeath says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:13am

I got stuck :/ It wasn't clear to me how to get into the transportation chambers. Might just be that it's 3 AM, but I gave up. Otherwise good game, though... really enjoyed the music and gameplay.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I also got stuck getting into the transporter. But I started again and on the second run I just walked straight in!? The music and style of this game is excellent.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]