April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

EpicQuestEssence

by Mikel - Jam Entry

Game in HTML5/javascript
Web is link to play game online
Source is link to .tgz file with full game can be played by opening index.html in browser

EDIT: added a port that uses arrow keys for non-qwerty keyboards (minimal changes to game just keycodes)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#170Humor(Jam)2.61
#218Graphics(Jam)3.42
#397Fun(Jam)2.56
#418Theme(Jam)2.81
#428Audio(Jam)1.86
#431Overall(Jam)2.73
#460Mood(Jam)2.32
#507Innovation(Jam)2.06

Comments

Catmoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Lovely little game, the art style is great and full of character!

Although it's a shame that the collision seems to be very easy to get stuck on, it lead me to my death a few times.

Rongon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Very minimal and graphics/animations are cute, but there should be a lot better hit-box model (especially for the trees). I died at level 9 :p

deathray says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18am

Cartoons are amazing! Gameplay was a little fun. It could've used some kind of power-ups or added complexity... I think I would prefer a choose-your-own-adventure comic with this comic style.

Yacodo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Damn IA, so aggressive for a start ! ^^

Nice job.

sanojian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Really nicely drawn.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25pm

The art is just fantastic - if you can step up the gameplay a bit next time, then we have a winner! :-)

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Irritating movement sound effects, unfortunately.

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:17am

Nice drawings. Also I like the take on the theme... boiling a genre down to it's very core.

Perhaps the UI could have been made in a style more suitable to the rest of the graphics.

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Cannot play because my keyboard fr...

Mikel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Thank you all for the comments, just added a port that uses arrow-keys instead of wasd for the benefit of non-qwerty keyboards

wallmasterr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:51pm

rely like the art stly and the limited animation is realy fitting with the minimal theme.

TheCze says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Nice cute graphics, gameplay improvable but gj.

mtthwcmpbll says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Loved the art style! I found getting stuck on the trees and mountains way too easy (I'd shrink the bounding box and maybe rotate them 45 degrees so that there's no edges orthogonal to the arrow keys so that the player would slide off obstacles). I also would have had two or three variations on the obstacles and randomly select a sprite to place on the map. That way, not all trees look exactly the same.

madlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:21pm

like the visuals, but found the running sound effect a bit abrasive. Also, i think the hitboxes could be smaller, I was often colliding with things when it didn't seem like I should be. Fun though!

finefin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:46am

Nice little game. "dark forces again... you know..." hehehe really funny. as already stated by the others, the hitboxes would need some optimization - that'd make the game way less frustrating. anyway, nice job :)

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Art is awesome, sound is annoying ;) (Seriously, that art is so lovely...)

SnoringFrog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:24pm

I liked the idea of just looping the levels with additional enemies. Great way to lengthen the game. Things got a little crazy around level 7 for me, ended up failing on 8.

hissssssssss says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:36am

I wish the ghosts wouldn't get stuck on top of the princess so often. Other than that, this was a cute game.

psc1997 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Very good graphics ;-)
Good job ;-)

cakemonitor says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:16pm

I really like the graphical style :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]