April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dragon Drop

by Tom 7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a "minimal" game. Descriptions and screenshots might spoil it, so you might as well just click (all in browser, just using the mouse).

- 100% from scratch!
- HTML4 technology!

Mild hint: Every game can be won. There's more (or less) than there looks, should you think of dismissing it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#6Humor4.15
#38Innovation4.06
#144Mood3.50
#151Graphics3.77
#153Theme4.00
#167Overall3.64
#198Fun3.44
#1088Audio1.13

Comments

zinfandel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Is there something else besides solitaire?

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Haha, funny thing with the interface. :D

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Very good ;)

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Yes.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Oh wow this is so great! I love it

optimality says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Very nice :).

NiallM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Took me a while to figure it out, but this is fantastic. Really really cool :D

shohs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

That was pretty clever with the interface.

aneeslol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:48am

Hilarious and nostalgic!

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Cool!! :)

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:19pm

It took me a minute, but this is awesome! Very well done!

sparkleswirl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Brilliant. What looks like a crappy solitaire rip off is actually an ingenious puzzle game wrapped in nostalgia. Nicely done!

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:58am

Thanks for checking out my game! Hehe I had fun with your game nice job :) That's a lot of work from scratch

dalbinblue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:52am

Okay. I almost rated you low for a simple port solitaire; then I thought, well this may be the persons first game and was learning a tool so I went back and looked at whether or not you had done LD before and saw a bunch of games and realized some thing is not right here. You gave some really subtle clues I missed the first time, and some good misdirection in the comments. Well played sir.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:16am

Every mouse action blocks for a couple seconds which makes this game painful to use. (Tried on Firefox 20 and Midori, same result.)

DBRalir says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:01am

Very interesting, although the mouse is super laggy. It's still playable, though, nice job!

Tom 7 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Thanks for sticking with it, those that did; I hope it was rewarding!

It does need a fast computer or a fast browser, sorry. :)

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:01pm

3.2 GHz dual core Core i3 isn't fast enough? What do we need to play your game?

Tom 7 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:45pm

I don't know, it may depend on the browser. It works ok for me on my Air in Safari or Chrome.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Nice take on the theme. A very interesting puzzle!

radmars says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Yeah the performance issues seem more browser dependent - for me (i7, so presumably no hardware issues, heh), Firefox is almost unplayable since the screen hardly ever updates while dragging - on the other hand Chrome is perfectly fine.

Norgg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:04am

Despite having realised that it wasn't the point I had to go complete the solitaire game anyway. So awesome.

L says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:28am

I love the secret way to cheat at the game. It's the most beautiful, simple "cheat" I've seen in a videogame in a long time. Six stars.

ncgames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:30pm

ha. fantastic

glbs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:36pm

You made my LD, it was really an experience! (and I almost gave up to the first game as I didn't understand the point, when a lucky move of the mouse sent me in a different space)

Lidfrid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:49am

Humor in this! :) I like that the card has no image :D

Tifu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:17pm

My mind was blown. Great idea!
Not sure how to progress further, or if I can, and don't want to post spoilers to find out :P

May 4, 2013 @ 4:10pm

This is wonderful :3

ilo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:16am

Very clever. The subtlety and delivery of hints were spot on I thought.

Jod says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Haha, this was really funny. Took me a while to figure out, loved it. Very clever.

KevinZuhn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:12pm

This really blew me away with its hidden layers! I'm also glad there are plenty of ways to goof off in addition to solving the main problem. Excellent use of theme, and generally a super charming experience!

May 5, 2013 @ 6:17pm

9999 out of 5 for Innovation and Theme.

aeveis says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Not sure if I can figure out the actual ending but very interesting interactions. :)

jerombd says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:12pm

You make me smile :D

euwaku says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:57am

Nice inception!

[SPOILER]
Any clue for how to beat the game? I think the trick is to close everything exploiting a bug. So far I could duplicate many icons but not really make them disappear. Maybe gathering all the icons in one window you could close would do the trick but I couldn't manage to do that...

Tom 7 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:26pm

There's some help within the game if you need it.

Tifu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:01pm

ooh! Solved it :D

Misael.K says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:20am

Took me a while to understand what goes where, very clever.

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:40am

Really cool! I didn't notice that you could min the window. :) The solitaire was tricky and it was an interesting take on the minimalism theme. Great work!

Taro Omiya says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:11am

I'm not sure I found the right way to win this game (e.g. clean the desktop), but it was nostalgic while it lasted.

LizEngland says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I normally skip the comments and go right to the game - I am so glad I came back to read them. I loved this and that sense of discovery (especially when it comes to breaking the 4th wall).

JohnnySix says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Loved the nostalgia, the content so rich too. Five stars for Innovation and theme. :D

gerritg says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:48pm

So much to explore...nice entry!

SuperDisk says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:49pm

I won! Ending sucked though.

Still, great recreation of Windows 3.1 and the initial surprise of closing Dragondrop.

johnfn says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:20pm

What a cute game. I beat all the games before realizing that didn't really help me achieve my end goal, heh.

The ending was very minimalistic ;-)

MinionStudios says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Perfect! full interface!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:28am

Haha, very nice! Almost didn't catch what I needed to do at first.

May 16, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Hey that's great, very good work for the short time given...

Spiridios says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:29pm

For those complaining about lag, it's most likely your browser. Same computer, ran it in Firefox and it was painfully slow. Ran in Chrome, was smooth as it should be. This mimics my experience with other Javascript games (both in compo and my own). Javascript/HTML5 just isn't very consistent yet...

Very interesting take on the theme :P Not much for replayability, but it was interesting and nostalgic.

klianc09 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Well done, really risky doing something like this, but innovation knows no boundaries^^
PS.: my screen is now only black, did I win?

ashdnazg says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:36am

Well done!

psc1997 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Woooow! "Windows 7 for Workgroups"! Love it! ;>
Very good job ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]