April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Def

by pansapiens - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Linux users (like me !) try the Chrome Native Client build here: http://omgwtfgames.com/wp-content/uploads/games/LD26/web/DEF_NaCl/DEF_NaCl_nacl.html

Def is a tower defence challenge that embraces MINIMALISM, while not forgetting that it should also be a VIDEOGAME.

Point of interest: There are no 'paths' initially. Enemies lay down pheromones (Ph), and tend to move toward high Ph levels so they build their own path. Towers cannot be placed on 'locked' squares with very high Ph levels. Killing an enemy reduces the Ph level of the square it occupies, so enemies have a tendency to rebuild paths to avoid defences.

Instructions:
* Use the mouse.
* Left click the toolbar (left hand side) to select a tower type.
* Left click the map to place it.
* Right click towers for a small refund.
* ESC exits.

Credits: Font is Dusty by dustBUST. SFX with bfxr & Ableton Live 8 (Psynalog Square Bass). Music with autotracker.py.

TwitchTV video (44 hours worth !!) here: http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/b/396202992 (Update: Video is gone. Who knew, Twitch only keeps them for 4 days - I didn't get a chance to catch the highlights :/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#184Overall3.59
#224Fun3.39
#225Graphics3.61
#371Theme3.73
#374Audio3.00
#443Mood3.03
#650Innovation3.00
#946Humor1.70

Comments

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

I managed to get to only 26 kills. I've found that the AOE tower seems slightly more effective.

It's a nice twist to tower defense, certainly preferable to having 50+ towers and more enemy types than you can count.

bateleur says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

This is really nice - very well made and fun to play. I scored 1560 on my third try, which I suspect is due to the purple tower being a teeny bit overpowered. ;-)

bateleur says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27pm

(1560 was when I gave up. I was clearly never going to lose.)

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Very nice, very fun to play. And fits the theme perfect. Purple tower is very powerful. Get a few of out and i'm not sure i'll be losing any time soon.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

I enjoyed this minimal TD game a good bit. I particularly like the idea of using the pheromone trails to guide the creeps. I managed to survive 329 seconds on my second try and kill about 450 creeps. Definitely could use some further balancing and it does tend to get a bit boring in the mid game until the creeps ramp up their spawn rate.

lathomas64 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

I thought I had it all figured out and this was too easy once I got a wall of of the higher towers in their face. Nice that they managed to focus fire and start taking me down. Took down 617 of them before they got me though. nice work

MartianWatts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02am

I love tower defense games, this is simple and funny

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19am

The balancing isn't perfect, a wall of purple tower is overpowered, but that was definitively enjoyable.

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:36am

You should set money amount near towers shop, and give money at the begining. It takes me a moment to understand what to do. Very well done. Congrats :) Done 2666 kills !!

anjack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59pm

http://imgur.com/DiaNRis

At that point the sound is like something out of a nightmare.

Great minimalist TD game!

May 1, 2013 @ 12:01am

Nice game, didn't find it all that easy, but then again, I have no experience with tower defense games... oh well! :)

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:04am

Awesome! I made it to 27 kills. Love how hard it is and how scarce the resources are. The pheromone trail idea is neat too. The music and audio are great, it is maybe a bit too hard to get anything that feels like victory in the game though.

ilo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:50am

The pheromone idea is inspired. Isn't that what ants do?

I agree with others about balancing and also that it's hard to know how blue squares differ from purple squares when starting out, but I like its simplicity, and it feels satisfying to play.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45am

Once you know how to def, it's really fun just watching the neon effects. Fantastic.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:16am

Once I figured out the optimal strategy, I managed to fill the entire screen. I enjoyed it while it lasted, though.

TenTonToon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06am

Really fun game, if somewhat difficult to get into the first few times. You did a great job with the theme, distilling the essence of the tower defense genre.
I also dig the "Monaco" vibe of the graphics.

Congratulations! :)

Dir3kt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:00pm

One of my fav entry so far :) The visuals are awesome. You nicely used the theme, even the title is minimalist :)

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Sweet play! Had fun. Good implementation. Thank you.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:24pm

A very fun tower defense and giving it high graphics score, thanks for sharing!

jim3wg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Very Fun to play !!!

RobKat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:14pm

This game is really great, couple of ideas, obvious point people have pointed out is the over powered units. Either adjust that perhaps something like stage 2,3..... for when you fully push back the enemy. Would also suggest an audio manager so that when (say 5+) sounds are stacked it doesnt stack any more, epic livid audio stack :D

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:35pm

I love how chaotic it gets as you play it for while. Lovely presentation as well.

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Nice game. When I got 2 full lines of turrets it became too easy :p, played untill I got over 1000 kills. Enjoyed it. Good job!

gameXcore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Fun, but this needs a lot of balancing.

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Nice simple and fun. Good job.

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:17pm

I leave the tower alone a little bit to give my feedback - if you implement two 10$ squares, covering all the area, and then covering all the columns... you win. Simple like that.

But it's very good design.

Uhfgood says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:14am

Nice. Simple to play. Fun!

Uhfgood says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:23am

303 second 313 kills!

oatsbarley says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:11am

With a little bit of balancing this would be great. It gets to the point where you pretty much just can't lose if you spam the enemy with towers. Overall really good, though. Nice job!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Not bad, but is hard to play =(

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I definitely like the "pheromone" movements, it adds a nice emergent layer to the game. It's pretty simple tower defence past that, but a well polished and fun take. =)

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:32am

Pretty cool. Quiet easy but its pretty intense once the enemies start spawing full speed.

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:14pm

A really satisfying minimalist TD. The not-quite-just-blocks art is really polished and appealing; I love the restart flare for example.

I like TD's but I'm not very good at them; for me this is nicely balanced: I don't have to panic and rush at first, but it's not forgiving of poor tactics either. Feels like a genuine distillation of the essence of TD, and I just love the pheromone trails concept.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Nice concept, took me a while to get it but when I did I quickly took control of the whole map, 3000 kills right now and the enemy can't go past first column.
A little hard to understand, too easy when it's done. No way to win? It would have been a great feature ;)

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Btw, 5000: http://i.imgur.com/UiTN1bu.png

Sylvain.p says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Very fun game. And nice graphics.

At 330s, the monster being really angry.

May 20, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Really cool game!
I don't typically like tower defense games, but this one was pretty interesting! Liked the pheromone system!
I would post my score, but I could survive indefinitely:
http://www.pacifistgames.com/files/towerDefense.png

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]