April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

VTanks

by jpverkamp - Jam Entry

An entry for the Ludum Dare 26 Jam.

Completed under the competition rules, but after the original deadline.

It's not much of a game, but it does fit my two goals:
- Learn how to write a game in Haxe
- Actually enter Ludum Dare

Instructions:
- A,D; Left, Right to aim.
- W,S; Up, Down to change power.
- Space to shoot

Click for focus.

Source code: https://github.com/jpverkamp/vtanks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#352Theme(Jam)3.07
#374Humor(Jam)1.71
#423Fun(Jam)2.44
#458Audio(Jam)1.39
#502Mood(Jam)1.96
#509Overall(Jam)2.42
#532Graphics(Jam)2.02
#546Innovation(Jam)1.68

Comments

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

Very simple concept.
Graphics are perhaps to minimalist, white on fullblack was not very good for eyes

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

I like the destructible terrain.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

Great "Worms" concept, really Minimalist. Good Work !

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:02pm

To those who got confused: press space to shoot.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:10pm

after loosing my first tank to myself, it is quite fun to play. reminds me gorillas http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gorillas_(video_game)

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

@Nakato: I actually played with a few nice gradient fills, but for the life of me I couldn't figure out how to get Haxe to generate it bottom to top rather than left to right which just looked strange. Alternatively, I could have used images (a la http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/2/21/Scorched_Earth_title_screen.png/300px-Scorched_Earth_title_screen.png), but that's a bit less minimal.

@Dietrich Epp: That took a while to get right. It's still a little buggy...

@raincole: Completely forgot about that! I added it to the readme text.

@everyone: Thanks for the feedback! I'm glad I made some time this time to submit. The LD community is amazing.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Nice work! This would be a cool worms style game engine that you could build upon.

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50am

That terrain-breaking algorithm is cool.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

I miss Scorched Earth : (

Nice game, and glad to see you decided to stick it out and submit instead of giving up! I liked the terrain mechanics, but I wish there were a more visual way to see your power (like the length of your barrel?) so that it would be a little easier to learn. Good job!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:02am

Decent game.

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:02am

Great game, very much like a minimal Scorched Earth.

tcstyle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:33am

It works. Had to get used to the terrain behaviour.

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:04pm

I remember being addicted to this kind of tank games years ago. Great memories :3

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:17am

maybe the graphics were a bit too minimalist but I had fun playing it

mramaizng says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:41am

the terrain destruction is awesome! Great job!

Aceria says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:03am

Good work for your first time with new software :)

May 4, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Really minimalist.

donan says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Classic scorched earth :D. Needs more visual appealing, but its hard in few days :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]