April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

silly squares

by lightsoda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first ever LD. No masterpiece, but at least I finished something!

Edit:

I thought I should let you guys know that the gauntlet has checkpoints! When I designed the level it was too hard for me too, so I added them in. There is some light at the end of the tunnel! :)

SPOILER for the clue look to the walls! SPOILER

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#218Theme3.91
#221Audio3.26
#243Fun3.37
#323Overall3.41
#327Humor2.61
#501Mood2.95
#504Graphics3.10
#923Innovation2.62

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:18pm

That red power-up is a life saver!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Quite nice idea & level design. The controls feel very unfinished and frustrating though - a bit too fast movement, no sliding along the walls.

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

I really liked this! It was a little too hard for me (I gave up on the last level, the Gauntlet) but I liked some of the ideas and you had some cool stuff going on with the messages/narration. Some thoughts:

1. Some of the tests are a little too tight (the second level is very hard even though it's the first one you can die on.

2. If you die with the red powerup, you still have it when you respawn, don't know if that's a bug.

Nice game! Well done.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Hard. Very hard! But I like it! Good effort!

TheSnide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Quite hard, mostly due to slippery controls. But quite addictive !

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Congrats on your first LD ! Nice game, cool music and nice aesthetics :)

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Slick, a bit sticky on the controls (one tile corridors become hard to navigate considering how fast you move per tick). Digging the presentation and music! Good job :)

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Nice one. It tooks me a moment and many many tries before realizing that I had to take the bottom end on third level ahah

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

It felt good to smash through walls. Relieved some of the angst of getting clobbered by a speed block i never saw coming.

Good level. I kept playing. The voice in my head pulled me through because I wanted to know what would happen next. It gave a narrative to your game... made me form a relationship.

The gauntlet was maddening but you'd already established the quality of the game so I was willing to push through. That's rare for me (I really value my time) so you did something right.

Graphics were clean and appropriate to the theme. Music was appropriate as well.

Good work.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Wow, really polished and the game looks and feels great. Maybe I'm just dumb, but I couldn't figure out the level that says "maybe theres a clue around here"

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

For those of you wondering about the clue, look to the walls :)

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Yeah... this game is so much fun, that i could throw my laptop out of the window... very difficulty gameplay... but i played it at least 10 Minutes... I only have gross motor skills :D

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Shame the controls aren't a bit more polished, otherwise really fun! Nearly reaches Meat Boy levels of frustration and reward.

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Very good ideas !
And really funny.

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

The gauntlet is evil. :P

grimpunch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm

throughly frustrating! but good

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Haha, I love your little easter egg thing at the end. This game's really good. Very simple (obviously), very challenging, very well-executed. Good stuff.

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Good use of the theme. Really enjoyed the fast paced game play, though it was very frustrating in some places. The music was very fitting and the visuals I think went with the theme very well. I also appreciated the creative level design, and the use of text in the levels.

Overall really nice work!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Dang...could not beat that level with multiple exits, I sweat I tried every one. Cool game! (and hard)

ElScootro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Overall, very good game for dev time. The controls are too touchy, would have been helpful to have them be a little slower or something.

jadams says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Like most people it seems I thought the controls were a little too sensitive, slipping between the moving blocks was a bit frustrating.

Really nice work and I like the level design.

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:15am

i need to play this more!

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:17pm

The controls were a bit to unprecise, so i often hit one of the orange squares which was a bit frustrating. The awesome music motivated me to continue playing. I didn't find the clue so i tried the 26th (LD #26) blue quare and some others but I didn't found the right one. Overall a good sounding nice game :)

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:17pm

A bit oversensitive but that just made it all the more difficult!

TijmenTio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Quite challenging, but that's a good thing! Well done for your first time ;)

Prudiiarca says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:10pm

nice idea! In my mind you did better than i have done this year (it was my first ludum dare too). Interesting movement concept, but still a bit buggy.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Pretty decent puzzle game. Really simple to play and keeps you hooked even after the puzzle sections are over and you are on the gauntlet. Really well made good job!

May 4, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Nice Entry!

marnaouf says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:17am

Really fun game.

Alink says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Good game. Difficulty is perfect IMO. Just hard enough to not be frustrating.

The little texts and the unusual key/door mechanism are good ideas.

Beerman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Loved the visuals and the music. Couldn't figure out the clue - the walls look all identical to me - but I got lucky and hit the right square.
The gauntlet just straight up made me want to murder you ;) Damn, that thing is frustrating!

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:45pm

failed on level two. maybe I'm just to old and my reaction rate is too low, but it was really frustrating... :(
as far as I can assess, the game fits the theme. and I love the music.

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Really nice game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]