April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Forms LD48

by Prudiiarca - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Finally this is the result of my weekend. There could be 255 levels, but at the moment there are only 23.
You can gather detailed information about this project in the info.txt or ingame via 'Esc' + 'Help'.

Note: I tested this at my windows pc and my mac. At Macintosh there were a few problems with the keyinput I couldn't fix yet. The important things work so far that I can upload it for mac too. Because I have no Linux pc yet i can't guarantee it works there too, but if you want test it out and send me a message at twitter (@prudiiarca).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#548Mood2.89
#624Audio2.59
#702Theme3.39
#728Innovation2.91
#804Graphics2.71
#996Overall2.74
#1222Fun2.09
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

lightsoda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Interesting take on this kind of puzzle. Controls fine.

Would have been nice with some audio, and less contrasting graphics.

Prudiiarca says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Thank you for your feedback! Didn't you have sound? There should have been something to hear (e.g. firing sounds and backgroundmusic...)

tankete says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:26pm

It was fun once I figured out that there was a green bullet. That said, once I fired with green, I never seemed to get blue again. Strategy? or bug?

infernet89 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Well designed puzzle, really original. Just a report, i shooted too many squares at once and the sound effect for shooting broken up.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I'm colourblind, and based on the comments below I'm missing something. I do quite like the aesthetic (reminds me of my Virtual Boy a little bit). Mechanically though, I'm not getting much out of it.

MuffinTrap says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:44pm

The idea was clear and fun to find out. Did not figure out the third block before looking for help.
What I find essential to puzzle games is that when you figure out the solution, you can do it quickly. In this game it is very easy to figure out the optimal solution for the first level, but it takes way too long to do. I got bored half-way.
The first level could be way smaller and the ship faster.
The snowflake graphics was stylish and the music was fitting, though quite sad.

Doublecaster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:25am

To host jar in dropbox put the html file and the jar to the public folder. Then right click and copy public link from the html file.

This game was great. It was original and I liked the bakground music. The first level was quite long and it could had instructions about the green bullet.

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Again thank you all for your feedback. In my mind it's more important than being in top rank...

@tankete I didn't notice that yet, it's a bug.
@infernet89 Just recognized there's a failure in my sound code. Thank you, i'll fix that immediately
@MuffinTrap You're right, i failed the first level. But i've noticed that AFTER uploading so i couldn't change it. Moreover i became a little stressed by having virus issues that i simply forgot to introduce (explain) the green bullet.

@Doublecaster thank you very much. But the public folder doesn't exist anymore so i have to find another solution. Any suggestions?

Toastation says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Nice game :) You can generate public folder here : https://www.dropbox.com/enable_public_folder

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:09pm

A bit boring... it takes ages to fill that first square. Oh, and I was lost at first with the controls, for people like me: read the info.txt.

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:25pm

so cute! great job!

May 3, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Cool idea, felt like I was playing something different. Weird how the mouse controls menus but not the game. You need a way to speed up pacing and and increase fun. Like maybe there are enemies you also have to shoot, or colors to match, or some other kind of depth. I only got to the second level and spacebar is nearly worn out!

Broxxar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:28pm

The background music felt unnecessary to me. Out of key piano playing is rarely a good fit. Would have preferred some synths/pads playing a relaxing trance or something.

The gameplay itself was a bit tedious, maybe start with a smaller square for the first puzzle, because for the most part you're just slowly filling in a large square without much strategy. Only when you get to varying shapes does it start to get interesting.

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Excellent game! The music and art style go together perfectly :D

May 3, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Very cool puzzle, really original idea. The music was very calming. Would be nice as a mobile game.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I can't run Java stuff, which is a bummer because it looks nice. Sorry :(

SnoringFrog says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:25am

Even when I was pretty sure I found the optimal pattern for where to place the blocks, I never seemed to be able to actually complete a level without going way over the limit. I wasn't sure what else to try, so I got bored and gave up around level 3. It's an interesting idea, I just can't figure out how in the world to win when whether you get a red or a blue block seems entirely random.

Nevermind, I decided to try one more time as I was writing this, and I just realized that the ship will move all the way around the puzzle. That makes things much easier, but I still didn't get very far before getting bored lol. At least now that seems mostly because of my preferences and not because of the game design itself.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]