April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

minobi

by Pixelboy_85 - Jam Entry

Little ninja platformer.
Collect the loot and get to the exit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#30Fun(Jam)3.76
#73Overall(Jam)3.68
#111Theme(Jam)3.72
#154Graphics(Jam)3.67
#159Humor(Jam)2.65
#220Mood(Jam)3.12
#322Innovation(Jam)2.80
#338Audio(Jam)2.67

Comments

jwin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Fun and stylish, I like it!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25am

Wow! Good entry and nice work.
REQUEST MORE LEVEL!!!
I like this game, really =)

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13am

Fun concept and I like the art style. Seemed really hard, but maybe I'm just tired. Great job.

syawqy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:41am

cool!!!! really simple yet really cool!

MemphisTen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

mind=blown! :)

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14am

That was fun, if really hard! I really like how the art style turned out for you. Sounds are a bit annoying, having a mute button never hurt anyone. :)

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26am

Had only 20min for the sounds :( will change them eventualy.

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:12am

Great game!! Maybe I'm to bad, but I'm no able to make it to the second floor XD

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:17am

Challenging. Fun. Nice graphics. Nice job.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

Holy shit I suck at it! Also I had some trouble finding where I was at first. Really like the use of minimalistic art style and the concept is very fun!

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Very good fun, Was hard but enjoyable!

Split82 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Really really nice! One of the top games I played.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

Challenging. Like the simple puzzle elements.

smoed says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Simple but really really good! Maybe one of the best games.
I like the graphic style and the concept! Good work!

Norgg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Cool! Nice set of puzzles and satisfying movement. Definitely left me wanting more.

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Awesome, very very nice

Jiddo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Granted, I died a lot. Always do in these games. But it was a lot of fun and just the right level of challenging. (Thank God there wasn't a death counter, eh?)

The puzzles were well thought out. The level, even if it was just the one, took long enough to master for it to last a while. The graphics style worked out really well and was mostly self-explanatory, which I think fits great into the theme.

The only problem I noticed was that it was too difficult to jump up or fall down in very narrow passages. I guess that one pixel or something must have been off or something. That got me killed a whole bunch of times, which is a shame and sort of frustrating.

I really liked that it was browser based and ran so flawlessly.

Great work!

runonthespot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Tight, controls felt spot on to me. The ninja was super and basically this is just ridiculously high quality for a short time-frame compo like this. A+

Thijsku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Fun little platoformer! I like the really simple graphics and the sound effects. It was a nice challenge to reach the end! Good job. :)

madballneek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:52pm

One of the best entries I've played so far. Really fun and challenging, yet fair. You also get some brownie points for using HTML5!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Aw.. I realized right at the end that you needed loot and I couldn't escape the last room to go back and get it :/

domrein says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Loved it. One of the best entries I've played so far. The difficulty ramp is pretty brutal at first, but not so hard that it's frustrating over all.

Alexander says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:37am

This was fun, cool game. The art is cool, and the AI is really nice, and transparent.

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:15am

That was harder than I thought it'd be. Great game!

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:53am

Minobi... gotta' love that reference. 'Twas a good game overall, I just encountered a few minor bugs:

* Sometimes the player's run sprite would continue to be displayed even while they were standing still
* I occasionally had trouble dropping through the thin grey platforms; the down key seemed unresponsive

Nice graphics and gameplay. Minobi is fun for the whole family (or just one person, alternatively.)

JigxorAndy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:42am

Nice work! A fun and challenging game.

mikeware says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:59am

Really nice style. Took me a while to figure out a few things like that I can run as fast as the bullets. The second laser section was really hard initially. It'd be nice to not see the guards I already defeated respawn and to checkpoint every time I got loot.

Team Castor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:37am

Nice Job

Christian S. says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:15am

Nice animations and fun gameplay! Thank you!

kernel panic says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Great entry! Please make more levels!

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:04pm

wow really nice game.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Love how much ninja-personality you were able to put in a 4x4 sprite! The level design is pretty tough, with a lot of timing involved, but it's fun and challenging. I eventually got pretty good at it, nimbly dodging the turrets and sneaking up on unsuspecting civilians!

-Rosypenguin
(This is a group account)

May 3, 2013 @ 10:55pm

This is great! But the first puzzle is quite hard :(

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:00am

Super fun and quite challenging.

May 4, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Very nice and challenging game!! I like it very much! Add more levels!!

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Man that was intense, very hard. I'd like to see someone speedrun that! :D great work!

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:05am

Nice lo-fi style! But only 1 level? :P Also there are some bugs in the animation, sometimes you stay idle and it keeps playing the 'run' animation.

lorancou says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Really cool and well balance ...

More level Needed !

May 7, 2013 @ 8:43pm

This game needs death counter so badly :)
It was challenging and fun.
Also i hit topmost switch through the wall. It's a bug, i guess.

TurboDindon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Very minimalist but very immersive. I love the stylish.
Gameplay settings are good.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Zener says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Very good game, incredible ninja animation with just 3 pixels.

Madball says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Cool, the controls are smooth, the gameplay is neat. Kinda repetitive, but it doesn`t last long.
Sometimes (the second time you jump on the darker platform) if you move at the wall standing on a darker platform and jump, you fall down.
Sometimes you kinds kill the enemy after you die. You respawn, but the enemy doesn`t. (Until you die again)
If you stand in the turret, it doesn`t harm you.
You can also press buttons through walls.

rsodre says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:53am

Love it! Reminds me of Bruce Lee on the ZX Spectrum, my favorite game when I was a kid.

ethankennerly says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:00am

Hitting a red dot and seeing a connected gun go dark and not shoot interested me.

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:55am

Pros: Very nice graphics! Pretty good feel to the physics as well. =)
Cons: No blood!

Tifu says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:07pm

So glad you had checkpoints! fun game

8BitPimp says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Very nice, very lofi, totally awesome. Needs more levels however.!!

HELLO23 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:43am

Great. Nice style, unique gameplay and the graphics is amazing. I liked the idea of one big level. perhaps it will be better if there are several big levels. Pretty hard to beat, but it is very very fun. 5/5

Beldarak says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Great game ! I like the way I constantly went from "meh, how the hell I am suppose to do that?" to "Oh, in fact that was quite easy".

Nice work.

May 15, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Cool game, great style and fits the theme perfectly... :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Nice minimal animation and good game, great work.

Xanjos says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Pretty good take on a stealth game. Liked the visual style and would definitely love to see some more levels in the future.

Puccini says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]