April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Epic Journey of the Narcoleptic Cyber Kitten: Floppy Disk Deluxe

by theRestlessTaxidermists - Jam Entry

You are a narcoleptic cyber cat. But you have a jetpack, so that's ok. Learn to programm your jetpack and by doing so, do less effort. All these lights are so exhausting. Pick your floppy disks and get the hell outta here.

(We were a bit in a rush, so there is sound issues and some remaining bugs. There are few levels for now. We'll surely add some very hard ones in a post-jam version!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#134Humor(Jam)2.79
#208Graphics(Jam)3.45
#239Innovation(Jam)3.09
#349Overall(Jam)2.93
#351Audio(Jam)2.58
#386Fun(Jam)2.58
#398Mood(Jam)2.55
#463Theme(Jam)2.64
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

I couldn't get past level one. I liked the neon intro graphics. I get the impression level 1 was a matter of getting up on top of the slant and rolling down without using energy - but I could not pull it off.

scottychips says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

I really liked the 80's neon asthetic (did something similar with my game) Ran out of energy really easily though... tough game

overlordzz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

I did passed some lvls, pretty hard game.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19am

Ran too slow on my machine (Very cheap but new Acer laptop)

Ninjaxio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

I really loved this one. It's kind of hard, but other than that, I love the graphics and the gameplay. Hope to see more!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:04am

Really difficult, but I understood the concept. It could work!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:16am

I got stuck on level 2. Great concept.

SpitefulFox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

I couldn't even get past the first level. I'm not sure why the cat needs jetpack fuel to fall down a slope. Very nice aesthetics, though. Gameplay is at least nice and concise.

MemphisTen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

it looks very very good in the screenshot, but we couldnt make it past the entry screen :)

what are we supposed to press?

davidpeter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

Couldn't beat level two. :( I think you should have a sliver more jetpack fuel.

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33am

Interesting idea. I couldn't get the game to start for a while (suggest making the start click area larger and also accepting enter/space as input). I also kept getting caught on the edge of platforms and losing score. Didn't quite understand what the point of the floppy disk is. Interesting idea overall though - I like the idea of minimizing actions.

SeanAtr0n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:57am

omfg, finally got through to the end. Awesome gfx. What a lazy cat :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50am

Wow! Thanks for your feedback! For those having difficulties not falling asleep, remember to avoid using keyboard keys as much as possible. And the more Floppy Disks you use in one sequence, the less your movement will cost you.

We'll be making tons of new levels this week and post the link in here!

Jarrett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

Haha, love the premise. Game was rather hard at first, moving manually. But once I got the disks and it became more a puzzle game, I quite liked it. Looking forward to more levels :)

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:57am

Wow this is crushingly brutal for a game about sleepy cats :)

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:57pm

It's a fun premise but the special powers are hard to use. The 80s graphics and name are really cool. Keep it up!

noa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10pm

I've finished, great job ^^

Mikel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Liked the concept and cool graphics... Very dificult at first, one bad keypress and you lost... :-)

shines says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Interesting concept. I'd recommend adding an overlay on level two (or at least add to the description) stating how to use your floppy disk as it is not clear you have to click it to use it (especially when it's introduced as a keyboard game to begin)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Managed to beat it. It seemed quite difficult at first, but the disk helped a lot. Graphically it was nice, but I felt it would of been better with some music and a bit more atmosphere (seemed like it could be a pretty funky-esque game with a lot of flavor if you had more time).

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

The game is blocked on my computer. But the idea is good. (nice intro screen)

Misfit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Retro 80's style works! But yeah, game is pretty hard.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Very difficult, wasn't really sure how to play but great idea.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Hah. The puzzles definitely get trickier as you go up levels. The controls are a little fiddly for being so expensive to use, but after level 2 that doesn't matter so much.

infernet89 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Very hard, but it's a really original idea!

Tom 7 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Man, I can't get past the third level. I must be missing something! Neat concept and cool eye-blasting graphics, though...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]