April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Prototype

by OnlySlightly - Jam Entry

A love story about rectangles.


**Note and Spoiler ALERT!*******

Sorry guys! But what happens at the end is an actual design decision.

And don't worry the game will be expanded upon!


********************************

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#15Mood(Jam)4.08
#20Theme(Jam)4.21
#52Audio(Jam)3.80
#99Overall(Jam)3.62
#188Innovation(Jam)3.24
#209Humor(Jam)2.39
#215Fun(Jam)3.05
#262Graphics(Jam)3.24

Comments

haloflooder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:57am

A very touching story, a surprisingly well made game for what it is.

TheChris says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02am

It crashed after the blue block pushed the first button and when I got to the cliff.

messiano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

I simply love it, everything just fits, but is it supposed to end suddenly at the cliff?

delfino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

Very enjoyable experience though brief, would love to see this game expanded upon! Great audio, controls felt tight, good "story" and visuals all while staying very true to the theme.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45am

Thanks for the feedback guys! And sorry but yes, that's how it's supposed to end.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

Expand on what you've made. I love what you've done with it so far. More puzzles would be fascinating.

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

Interesting concept. Music added much to the feeling and helped build to the climax. It seemed like it was missing some middle parts, after the introduction of the squares. Possibly some more tension before the end just to give the ending more meaning.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48am

Wish there was more to it, since the ending is abrupt, but I think that what is here is brilliantly minimalist. It says and demonstrates a lot with very little. The art style was striking and immediately appealing. I really enjoyed it! All 60 seconds of it!

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52am

Interesting mood, super short. Not much as far as gameplay decisions but a nice little bite of mood.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

You can walk off the left edge of the screen... Excellent mood though.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42am

Short, sweet, beautiful. I loved the sense of every new screen expanding my perceptions - it's amazing how well you could tell a full interactive story with no dialogue and minimalistic graphics. The only problem I had with it is that the name doesn't quite seem to fit (and it's already been taken by an entirely different game), but that's just nitpicking.

Topaz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47am

Very nice.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:00am

I really respect some of the design decisions you made here. In particular, making the player the same speed as the blue block, but starting slightly behind, making it impossible to catch up. Great foreshadowing of stompy death, too, teaching the player what's next.

I do wish there was more! =)

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Keeps crashing in the middle of the 4th screen, is it a known problem? I really want to see where it goes :(

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Sadly that game crashed on 1-5 screens :( Very interesting what will be after!

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I loved the mood! Like everyone, I'd like to see more of this...

Keast says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:08am

Nice! Also, very fitting music :)

Boiúna says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:00am

The mood, the feeling, the story. It's awesome. It's a Amazing game.

Phase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:01am

Very nice! Very quick, though. I really love the music, well done.

Fritzendugan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:04am

what an evil, cheap, horrible teaser of an ending. You should be ashamed. :P

In all seriousness, you were building up something pretty awesome here and it's a really a shame that it's so horribly short, conscious decision or not, if it was anything other than you didn't have enough time to add anything more, you made the wrong decision. Hopefully you finish this.

Also, nice music and sound effects. The gameplay fits the theme in a very real and deep sense, moreso than many other games who simply took minimalism to mean "an excuse for cruddy art."

timtimtimtim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:19am

This is really awesome storytelling. Great job

May 1, 2013 @ 4:20am

The audio was neat, but unfortunately I keep crashing on the fourth screen.

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:23am

That was very emotional. Thank you for making this story.

Jarrett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:59am

Excellent entry. Game crashed a few times on me, but finally got to the end :)

moomoo112 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:11am

I thought the puzzles with AI was nice, but then it ended right after that, kinda disappointing

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:38am

This very strangely moved me much more than I expected. Then I realized that could very much be the essence of minimalism.

I gave you full points on mood and theme. And audio. Wonderful.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I'd be very pleased if I could see more of that. Is it normal that it crashes at their meeting?

stqn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I liked the idea of a world full of lonely squares, and the cooperation. The player movement is perfect with its smoothness and subtle inertia. The abrupt ending gives a bonus point for the theme ;). Unfortunately I played it under Wine/Linux and there was no sound.

HD408 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Smooth design and controls, you certainly should keep working on it.

kill0u says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:27am

Nice game, great mood!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Good work. It's nice play this kind of experiments. Congrats!

goat_buddy says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 2:33am

Really liked it, though I thought the crushing pistons undermined the nice subtlety of the message.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]