April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

At Least I'm Alive

by DangerPenguin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An exploration game. A discovery game. A game where you choose.

(The gameplay lasts about 5 min, more was planned, but cut due to constraints. Also, I had to remove grabbing, which got rid of a lot)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#105Mood3.61
#331Graphics3.37
#468Audio2.84
#619Overall3.11
#643Fun2.89
#994Theme3.05
#1100Innovation2.28
#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Lovely graphics and music! :)

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I enjoyed the art style, particularly the kids and robot.

If the kids can't use the cogs that are sitting right in front of them, they deserve to starve.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:59pm

I like the music and graphics - parallax was a nice touch!

TheThirdOne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06am

Very good. I love the Ending

arnaudmolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

I like the graphics, the music is cool too.

Celticraft49 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I like how it is a choose your own adventure game.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

From the screenshots I anticipated the graphics to be a lot better. But still not bad.

kunzbe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:30pm

a beautiful parallex background indeed.

Docteur says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Cool game, expected a bit more, but cool anyway. :)

olkeencole says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice twist at the end. Good design and use of choice with your title theme. The minimalism is there, but it's not really pushed for any meaningful effect. Solid entry.

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:45am

Saving the kids is the best ending :) I love the amount of depth created with the floating text, the reverberating music and the pixelated forest layers. I just wish the jump key wasn't W :)

miotatsu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:48am

I like the graphics :)

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Loved the background. Nice colors and parallax. Good job!

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:15am

Nice, lovely ending! Liked the graphics!

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I actually played through this twice to see the second ending and my only question is, why are there potatoes now?!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]