April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Vs.

by KJScott - Jam Entry

Backstory: Fight the evil minimalist regime and bring back "realism" to the gaming world.

How to play: Just keep pressing the one button to begin with and then start pressing other buttons as they appear, clues about what you should be doing start to appear as you go along.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#161Theme(Jam)3.59
#180Innovation(Jam)3.26
#288Humor(Jam)2.06
#357Overall(Jam)2.91
#408Audio(Jam)2.11
#412Fun(Jam)2.51
#428Mood(Jam)2.44
#447Graphics(Jam)2.55

Comments

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

i can't rate this game because i don't get what i need to do :(

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Took the theme a little too literal ;) Hard to tell what to do.

I'm assuming its kind of like a mini rts thats been stripped down. Cool concept.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

I defeated the regime! Great idea, fits the theme really well. I liked the minimial visuals in the beginning more than the later ones :)

deathray says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

The concept is innovative and the gameplay was fun... but I was completely thrown off by the diagram at the bottom! The "x = y" means "if you see x, kill it with y". The second stage was definitely the hardest because i didn't know what those things were at first.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

i think with a little description a least in here , how to play it might help a lot

KJScott says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

Things start to become clearer as you make progress, and yes it does start off very minimalistic but gradually changes. Just keep pressing the one button to begin within and then start pressing other buttons as they appear, clues about what you should be doing start to appear as you go along.

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

I feel dumb not figuring out what to do...

anjack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

I love this new genre of "UI evolution" games. I really like the transitions between graphics levels.

@hgouveia: Just start by clicking on the square icon repeatedly until new icons appear. Then it's a classic side-scrolling RTS.

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

Most of the time all I saw was the square at the bottom of the screen, I would click it, it would fill up, and then nothing would happen. Sometimes the other shapes would appear briefly. Using Safari on a Mac.

Homletmoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

It took me a moment to realise the aim, but I liked the progression. A very nice rock-paper-scissors spin off ;)

KJScott says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

@allinlabs - I wouldn't feel bad about not figuring out what to do, some playtesters I get it to had no idea also and needed a little prompting. I've added a little description of what to do on the entry now, hope it helps people. I don't want to say too much as it'll spoil it if you do start to make it through to the later stages.

KJScott says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

@Homletmoo - was supposed to be potato-paper-scissors spin off but never managed to really put that concept in :P

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

Slow to start - Nice RPS mechanic though! Only made more minimal by RPS ;)

NicoJaujou says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

I don't think minimalist means cryptic, but I like the buttons with the shapes.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:45am

This is a very cool game. It took me a bit to figure out what was going on, but when I caught on, it was awesome!

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13am

Hard to figure out what to do, but it boils down to rock, paper, scissors. However, if you launch one of each at each level then you'll end up winning in the end.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

I too was confused at first, but a little persistence paid off and I was very pleased with how it evolved.

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59am

Very unique approach :) Took a while to get into, but it was quite fun after you got the hang of it.

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20am

Tricky! When the symbols changed it threw me, didn't see it coming at all.

KJScott says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29am

@GingerMess I've been playing it for 3/4 days now and it confuses me when the symbols change too! Ideally I would have prefered it if I had done a transitional state, a morph between symbol changes but I didn't think about that until way too late.

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34am

Too complicated for my brain :)

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

Okay I didnt get it at first, but once I did I had fun :D Clever concept!

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27am

Maybe too minimal but it was pretty fun and cool. well done ;)

raincole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01am

To those who can't get it: it's just like paper-scissor-rock

Conve says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14am

What I have to do???

KJScott says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:15am

@Conve, there is one button to start off with, press that. Eventually things will start changing, try pressing different buttons and see what happens.

noddy2006 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:19am

Cool game! I smiled when the objects started to take shape - clever. I think the X=Y notation was a bit vague though. Maybe something like (square) > (circle)? Seems more intuitive to have what you need to use on the left and what you want to beat on the right, given that that's where the shapes originate.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

Great use of the minimalist theme. Start with the basic concept and build onto it.

I really liked the way it reverted back to the basic shapes when you start to lose.

KJScott says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:29am

@noddy2006 - I tried that but it got confusing fast until you learnt the patterns because you had to look at the symbols, find the one on the right, then look back at the left and having a < symbol going the other direction just made it look wierd. It's the one major thing I'm still unsure as to what works best and I had too few playtesters who hadn't played it during development.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Can't rate audio (no speakers sorry) But overall lots of fun! Love to see the progression from abstract to reality. Got pretty challenging too. Nice entry!

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13pm

The design is interesting, your backstory is hilarious ;) The theme is also well respected... But what the hell should I do in this game? I really just can't figure it out... To sum up, I think the main problem of this game is that you took the theme a little bit more literally. But nice atmosphere et design anyway!

HackThePanda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

I don't care what anyone says, this is a great game featuring great game design, catchy graphics and an awesome interpretation of the theme.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Clever game - figuring out how to play it is half the puzzle. :3

The biggest issue I have is that the guide to what kills what is totally unintuitive: if your units are coming from the left side of the screen and the enemy's units are coming from the right, why are they flipped around on the chart? Also, by the time the instruction showing how to change "channels" for your mobs turns up, the player should have already figured that out (I know I did!).

Here's an idea: perhaps the gameplay should also get more complex as the battle ensues?

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:25am

Enjoyable game, hard to work out but mechanically sound once you understand. Would have enjoyed more sound. Gets pretty intense toward the end :)

joe40001 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:48am

You should replace '=' with '>'
Aside from that I loved this entry, started off as a game where I thought "oh they used the theme to be lazy" but as it progressed I saw what you were doing and realized the genius of it.

I've not nothing but good things to say about this entry. Awesome job!

cwilloughby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:16am

Super cool! I love this as a concept for introduction to a mechanic - strip it down to basics, then add complexity. May make a cool idea for a tutorial someday. Great work!

hgouveia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I got it!!, is like a tower defense to put it in a way!, very fun when you get the idea! :D

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Bit hard to understand what to do. After some time you get (or not) to the point.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Extremely abstract and interesting. Congratz!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]