April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Eternal Journey

by GreenPixelDev - Jam Entry

Minimalist art for a minimalist theme! :D This new, unexplored art style was an adventure in and of itself! No time for music this LD but we were able to flesh out a concept that we'd like to take further! Enjoy!

- Ready for an endless adventure? Pack your bags, grab your weapons, and just keep walking to the right!
- Once you leave your Home Base, the action begins and your party is faced with enemies that you must defeat in order to continue your journey.
- Battle is turn-based. When one of your characters' Active Time Bars fills up, it's his/her turn to use a skill.
- During a character's turn, you must choose a skill to use.
- You may target multiple enemies - or party members, if you're using a beneficial skill - by clicking and dragging over your desired targets.
- Survive your way through enough enemy hordes to get some sweet, well-deserved rest in the nearest Town.
- In Town, you can visit the Inn to heal your party and buy new skills - all provided you have enough Gold!
- Each character can only hold 4 skills so choose wisely and replace the skills you don't need!
- When your bellies are full of grog and you're feeling brave enough, leave Town and continue your endless journey!
- Prove yourself to be the greatest adventurers in the land and journey further than any who came before you!
- Oh! And, don't die or you'll have to start all over again!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#52Graphics(Jam)4.15
#174Overall(Jam)3.37
#226Fun(Jam)3.04
#243Mood(Jam)3.06
#271Humor(Jam)2.14
#297Theme(Jam)3.20
#372Innovation(Jam)2.64
#431Audio(Jam)1.81

Comments

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03am

With a few more features I'd absolutely keep this on my phone.

GreenPixelDev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

@bleatingheart - That's great to hear, thanks! We made this with mobile in mind! :D

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:12am

AMAZING!!!! Best graphics I have sen in this LD. Very well done.

Blinked says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:19am

I love this game. It's very fun and the graphics style is very cool. It nails the theme not only graphically, but also mechanically. I agree with bleatingheart, if I had a more fleshed out version of this on my phone, I'd play the hell out of it :)

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:22am

Wow, really cool art style! Great use of colors and triangles! Also, is there suppose to be audio?

My only complaint is that it took so long for me to buy skills, for the longest time all I do is attack =P

May 1, 2013 @ 5:31am

I remember you guys' Dr. Vile game from the last LD! Another great job, with a great vibrant and engaging art style reminiscent of Ridiculous Fishing. However, in terms of minimalism I think the game is a little complex with four skills for each of the five heroes and plenty of things to buy in the store. Of course, each person interprets "minimal" differently.

I would also like to see some feedback on the buttons in the UI, like give them down states when clicking and off states if the player doesn't have enough money to purchase an item. Otherwise, solid game!

-Rosypenguin
(This is a team account)

aaron9000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:41am

Definite mobile potential. I like the geometric shapes.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Nice! Solid concept and execution. Ridiculous Fishing style done pretty well. Downsides - visuals were a bit too complicated, making things a little too busy (but the visuals are done well and look nice!). The controls felt a bit clunky for me, also the shops were not totally apparent what they were (I had no idea it was an Inn until i clicked it).

Also, not sure if it's a bug, but are you supposed to be able to click and drag ont he enemies and select all of them and just have your party attack every enemy every time?

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Thank you for the feedback, everyone! Looking forward to getting a full-fledged version on mobile :D
@Tokken18 - Yup, you can click and drag multiple enemies :D The planned mechanic was to have a penalty for making your attack chains longer but we didn't have time to put it in. It'll be an important strategy mechanic in the full game, though!

May 1, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Fun stuff. Thanks!

zkenshin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Really liked the art style. :)

Qaterknan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Great graphics. It is a shame that there is no sound.

Ernyz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Very interesting triangle-ish graphics :D with some more content added this would be really interesting game :) i also have noticed, that if two monsters stand near each other and i click to attack one of them, the game acts as i have clicked both monsters (both get selected and later attacked). Dont know is that intended, or a bug :)

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Nice art, nice concept. All these skills and combat strategy make your game deep. A little more help would be great and music/sound is really missing but I understand that so many features took insane time to build.

Angerus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Really liked the graphics and the type of game. Just wish to have more choices and bit more of strategy during a fight. Well,after all, the theme was still minimalism...Congrats!

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Great idea! Loved the combo attack!

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Definitely had fun playing, and I was really digging the graphics. Some action-y background music for battles would have given the game a really epic feel. An option to make the battles system "active" (meaning that the time bars wouldn't stop when it was someone's turn) would have been cool. I hope you keep working on this!

kyyninen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Played until I had couple of skills with every party member, so I guess your entry was pretty successful! However, I have a couple of notes:

* There seems to be no way to change your attack when you have chosen one.
* Weapon shop was never open?
* Choosing the axe wielding party member in towns was tricky!
* There's no reason to buy skills to any other party members than the two that act first, most battles are over by then and the ability to attack every enemy at the same time leaves any stragglers with minimal health.
* SP seems to do nothing?
* Not sure, but all attacks seem to do the same damage...
* Always forgot to put recently bought skill active!
* Fainted party members seemingly heal when visiting inn, but never participate in battles again.

More complete version of this could be pretty engaging and addicting!

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Really interesting graphics style, I like it! Sad that you had no time to add the music.

ethankennerly says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Attacking monsters interested me. If you continue to develop this, I wanted to see more options earlier on than just Attack.

Suese says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:29am

Great graphic style. It would have been made better with sound and music and a little more animation.

TammiLion says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:07am

Nice game!

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Cool art style, and a pretty well executed concept. I'm not sure what's the use of buying skills though? They seem to all do the same damage.

moomoo112 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:35am

I couldn't select michannika to set his skills in town
The graphics style is awesome though

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]