Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Robo-Workers Attack

by marcuiulian13 - Jam Entry

Here is my finished entry for this first time.
Had so much fun coding this, but I'm somehow upset because I didn't finished the game in the compo time. This is because after I set everything up, I discovered a memory management mistake I did. Basically, the game, at a moment could have use 2.5+GB of ram.

Everything is done now, so here is my entry.
It is a Tower-Defence type of game, having some "original / own" ideas. It is infinitely long, and I had some fun playing it.

Hope you like it. Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1979Coolness10%

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49am

Cool game, nice simple tower defense. Might be nice to have a start button so that you could actually read the info on the towers before the baddies start a comin'.

Also I'm curious about some of the mechanics re: stats on the different types of baddies and if they actually get stronger as the game goes on or if there are just more of them. I like to track these things when I play tower defenses, but that might just be me.

ooo, also had to make a 4shared account to download which was sort of aannoying

marcuiulian13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03am

Thank you for the feedback!
Actually yeah, the stats are increased for the mobs by a very simple algorythm:
stage <= 10 -> mob.baseHealth * (stageNumber * 2)
stage > 10 -> mob.baseHealth * stageNumber
But also, their number is bigger.

I'm sorry for the hosting, bt i couldn't think of a better website. I will try to update it.

deeJayUA says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:56am

Fantastic game!! I´m steel playing it on background, after 1h playing..
I´m on stage 27, looks that i´m pro, I can not loose..

May 1, 2013 @ 10:59am

Nice to see a game with rather complex gameplay. It seems to be pretty well done overall. The lack of sound and some kind of tutorial (e.g. a few text messages introducing you to the basic mechanics or anything) are a little sad but not too dramatic, since most people know how to play TDs anyway.
However, one thing that did bother me was the ~balancing. Firstly there's the problem that the better you play, the easier it gets (the game is actually harder for less skilled players - additionally to their lack of skill, that is). I worked on a TD game once and solved this by making sure that for each enemy reaching your base, you get money as well, and even more than if you had killed him. This way, as soon as your towers are too weak for the enemies, you get a little extra support. Secondly I really wish there were some pauses between the stages to calm down and rebuild your towers if necessary.
Still, seeing a complete and well-working TD game, even with appealing graphics in this game jam was a nice surprise. :)

deeJayUA says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:04am

Sorry my english on last post, game looks too easy, you should create multiple path for ememies!!
But it still the best game I played so far on LD26!! (excluding my one!! xD)

marcuiulian13 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:06am

Thank you very much for your feedback. Now i'm working on a android version of it. When it's done, i will try to post it here.

@ShellfishGames Thank you! I will try to make a complex formula for mobs health, and will try to add upgrades to towers.

@deeJayUA As i said, i will try to redo the health formula because at some point (stage 35+) the game gets very easy.

Thijsku says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:02am

It was fun to play! It was a bit hard though, so I couldn't pass Wave 7. :p Good job!

Canobie says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Cool!

marcuiulian13 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:17am

Thanks!

BenW says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:52am

I played way too much of this. Nice job making a fun tower defense game. I had to stop myself from spending way too long getting all nuclear towers. I wish there was a little more graphical differentiation between the towers.

bvanschooten says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:13pm

A complete tower defense game, very good. As far as I've seen it's not original in the slightest, but good nonetheless.

klianc09 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:36pm

It looked like there were multiple paths, but then they just used a single path...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]