April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rude Bear Rising

by Alex Rose - Jam Entry

NOTE: You know when you have hit an enemy, because their health bar goes down and it plays a sound. You have to be close, because you have small arms. You can get the harpoon to get range.

The heart-warming prequel to everyone's favourite bear game is here. In Rude Bear Rising you take control of a confused bear, swimming around an underwater labyrinth to defeat an evil wizard and save the world.

Although the wizard can potentially be fought by Rude Bear immediately, it's possible to search for items to make the battle more survivable. The items are found in chests, which are guarded by fierce enemies.

It started out Limbo inspired and turned into a free roam Mega Man homage.

Controls:
A & D - Move left and right.
Space - swim
Left click - Attack (And aim with mouse with harpoon gun)
E to enter boss worlds.

There's also a glitch where you get stuck in like.. infinite gameover. If you game over you'll have to restart, I'm afraid.

Labyrinth monsters:
Spitter - Hops and spits.
Cornelius - A giant eye.
Immortal Crab - Generally pretty happy about the whole situation. (Not quite as immortal as the name might suggest).
Stalac-might - A stalactite with a vengeance.
Swarnile - Part sword, part shark, part rhino, part crocodile. All horrifying.

Boss monsters:
Discover them for yourself! Their names are:
Smashy, Skate, RadFish, Cunning and The Wizard.

Unlockable powerups:
Snorkel, Harpoon, Flippers, Armour, Torpedo

Code, vector art and music by Alex Rose.
Pixel art by Antony Dewar.
Concept and sound effects by both of us.

The full development cycle was streamed here:
http://www.twitch.tv/vorpalgames

Rude Bear 1:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=19499

Would've liked to have added 3 more forms to the final boss, but alas, there was a lot I couldn't put in.

Edit: If I'd realised it ended 2 hours after I though it did, I could've added a proper game over/credits etc.

But oh well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#108Humor(Jam)2.93
#192Audio(Jam)3.18
#228Mood(Jam)3.09
#330Graphics(Jam)2.97
#387Innovation(Jam)2.59
#430Overall(Jam)2.74
#442Fun(Jam)2.38
#541Theme(Jam)2.21

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20am

Strega:
Interesting game. I was pretty mesmerized by the graphics and presentation. Definitely a weird experience. I had a lot of difficulty attacking enemies and telling if I was actually damaging them.

(this is a team account)

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44am

very surrealistic visuals!

domrein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57am

I don't know whether this deserves all 5 stars or all 1 stars. Amazing piece of work. Thank you for submitting this. I had a good laugh playing.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

some cool gfx tricks. sadly the game mechanic wasn't on the same level with the rest but the game is good!

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59am

Definitely had the Megaman feel of starting out insignificant in power compared to the bosses, finally finding one you can defeat, and using that to slowly find a leg up on all the others. The infinite-loop-death was annoying, but unintentional. Didn't have much to do with minimalism, but could be a good game with a little bit more rounding-off of sharp edges, if not necessarily polish. The roughness was an appealing quirk to the game, but it would be great if it was fully functional.

SeanAtr0n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

<3 the boss fights, gots me some flippers and a snorkel but then I died randomly even though I had hearts and that blasted wizard who I thought was my friend didn't help me rise from my grave.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07am

An interesting idea, but too broken for my tastes.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50am

RUDE BEAR RETURNS!!!! HAHA
Awesome minimalist style, and lots of varying enemy types! Great work for the Jam.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04am

Got stuck on the bottom! Pretty trippy visuals.

blay09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Very nice mood thanks to the good music and the two-color background. Going into a boss fight feels really epic because of the music changes.
The monsters look very nice too and remind me of Terraria :)
I found it very hard to control the cute little bear though and usually died in a few seconds when trying to fight something. Hits didn't seem to be detected properly either (both from enemies and from me).
Apart from that, nice work :)

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

I just patched the game over glitch, because it was literally just a bool that stayed flipped when the game is over and it really retracted from the game. Release note is that I also flipped the bool that destroys the chest (I accidentally deleted it when I added the torpedo), and uncommented a line of code that makes the immortal crabs' texture not changed to "awake" when you're closed.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Got contracted by the wizard, and after that seemed to get stuck in an infinite loop. Still liked what I played and the surrealistic visuals were really appealing to me.

juaxix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:10am

omg what a crazy game XD
It would be easy to live if the bear has a range attack like a magic spell / missile or something like that...
Enemies and AI rocks!

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:34am

Thanks a lot man!

You can, in fact, get ranged attacks if you enter the cavern and beat Skate (who is a pretty easy boss once you know his attack pattern).

Thanks for complimenting the AI too. This was the first time I've done AI so it's nice that you enjoyed it.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Really surreal graphics and music. I like it hahaha. Main problem with it was not knowing when I was hitting something, or was being hit. Not indication at all. Also the bear claw could reach a bit wider. You have to close to attack something. Good job!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:08pm

found the controls really awkward. Like the art and effects. Sound fits nicely.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Trippy ;) My LSD beaver was killed by a wooden box.

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:04am

Interesting visuals. Good music. I struggled a bit with the controls, but enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]