April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

quadTRI

by markusfisch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short and simple two player game everyone can possibly enjoy. Try to make squares from triangles. A square out of two triangles gives you one point; a square out of four triangles two points.

The player with the most points wins the match of course.

You can play multiple matches. The resolution of the grid does change with every match.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#185Innovation3.63
#283Graphics3.46
#339Theme3.76
#491Overall3.23
#676Fun2.84
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16am

Well done. We tested it with 2 players, but finally unsporting rules. Nice attempt.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:50am

This is a really fun way to reinvent tic-tac-toe. I played by myself and either won or lost, I'm not sure which.

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:52am

Nice looking design. It would be helpful with some instructions being shown in the game though. Was confused at first.

Good work.

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Good graphics and innovation, I would have loved an ambiant music though.
For the game itself, it is a bit too simplistic IMO (not so challenging), but maybe that's ok with the theme :D

namuol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Aww this looks like it could be fun, but I don't have anyone to play with. You should consider writing AI for a game like this next time -- these sorts of games aren't very hard to write AI for if you follow a decision tree approach!

zatyka says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Instructions would have been helpful, but I eventually figured it out. You rarely see this type of game in LD, so it was quite refreshing. I enjoyed the style, and simplicity of gameplay. Nice job!

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Looks fun, but I had no one to play with

8BitPimp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Ah its nice to see a local multiplayer game, they seem to be somewhat rare these days. The aesthetics of this are really nice. Also it made me really happy to hear that you had taken the time to port my game to Linux. Nice work.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Well done. Easy to play. Nice looking. Minimalist. So I guees that's cool :)

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Lovely graphics and nice simple concept. Good job!

Lafolie says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:39pm

I feel that an additional rule of some sort would help sharpen the gameplay a little, it's easy to soft-lock each other into a stalemate. Also, some ambient audio would be lovely.

Great presentation and execution though, really enjoyed this.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:52am

I wish I had a friend.

techmonkey says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:57am

Looks like a cool minimalist game, I'll have to try it with two players

mrexcessive says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Looks great, nice gentle movements in background. Plays well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]