April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Complete Revenge: A Hero s Journey

by syner_d - Jam Entry

let's rock and roll!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#183Graphics(Jam)3.58
#192Mood(Jam)3.20
#259Audio(Jam)2.94
#382Humor(Jam)1.68
#499Innovation(Jam)2.10
#521Overall(Jam)2.35
#541Theme(Jam)2.21
#551Fun(Jam)1.76

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

Nice game + atmosphere. Wish there were more checkpoints. Art style is nice!

syner_d says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:57am

oh thank you, we really love participate this event, our game still has some bugs! but we are repairing it! =D

Xgor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43pm

It's looks nice but the gameplay just feel wrong... It's floaty and I die for no reason..

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:46am

Having a hard time playing it, the jump peaks immediately and I keep dying on the end of the first platform but I'm not sure why. I tried taking the lower route but it's blocked.

syner_d says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:51am

more checkpoints have been added! We're still trying to fix the jump errors! xD

qdowngames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:03am

huh, something felt a tad clunky and unresponsive. Nice concept and graphics, but I just couldn't push myself to play through the whole thing. Key word push.

stqn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:03am

The web version doesn't work for me, all I get is a black rectangle (firefox 20 with a bunch of extensions, but I enabled javascript and cookies to no effect.)

syner_d says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:05am

you need wait for the loading =]

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:08am

I couldn't make it very far. I couldn't tell if it was because the controls/collision were a bit choppy, but I kept dying over and over. I did like the graphics and music though. I'd love to see a post-compo polished version.

nintendoeats says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:11am

I really like the way it rewinds time after you die all Forza style. I also like the graphics. The feel is really off though. the animation isn't fluid at all. It feels like its running at 5 frames per second. I also wish the screen was a bit bigger.

I can see cool ideas, it's just very very hard to play.

kurrik says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:13am

Would have benefited from better hit detection and controls, but I liked the atmosphere and graphics.

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:25am

Really good music and atmosphere. cool looking too nice :)

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:33am

Its a bit unplayable at the moment, the sprite doesn't seem centred, the jump just teleports you instantly to the peak of the jump spot and its very hard to see the hazards.

Looks nice, like the music. With a bit more work, it could be good but at the moment, the control of the character kinda ruins it for me.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:46am

Nice art, but the platforming code seemed a bit hit or miss. Having made some dodgy platform games before I suspect part of your problem is that you are doing x and y movement then checking for collisions. Instead do your x movement first, and if there is a collision resolve it by pushing the character out of the collision area on the x vector, then do the same with they y. At least that is how I resolved a similar bug with one of my home brew platform engines.

May 3, 2013 @ 4:46am

Can't get past the first jump after several tries :\

dalbinblue says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:54am

the music and atmosphere are nice, but the controls make it nearly impossible to play. Additionally, while the rewinding process is a cool effect, it takes way too long, and with the amount of obstacles it's also really frustrating.

TenTonToon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:03am

The game's looks are very interesting, but that's about what I could get from my playtime, as the game is almost unplayable (at least it is for me), due to the controls being very non responsive.

Thinking that maybe that was because I was playing the web version, I tried to download it. And then I was asked to register for an account to download the game? Man, did that piss me off X(

If you could create a mirror to streamline the download, using Mediafire or Dropbox, for instance, I'd love to try it again, as it really looks interesting. But as of now, there's no way for me to do so. And that's too bad :(

Keep it up! :)

syner_d says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:12pm

I changed the download link guys! Now no longer need to be registered. =D

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:25pm

nice atmosphere but needs improved controls.

QXD-me says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I liked the music but the game was really buggy (web version, Firefox). I seemed to be able to fly if I held space, then my character started facing the opposite direction to the one they were moving in, then they flew off the screen and it went black. I'm assuming that wasn't intentional :P

kibertoad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Buggy mess. Please fix it. Art was nice, though. Didn't rate it yet.

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:37pm

I like the art style and the music! The game itself was very unforgiving. Indeed checkpoints would be nice!

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Awesome artwork! The game itself is a bit simple, though I really like the winding back of time when you die.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Excellent art style and great music! I also liked the whole rewind thing. There are some problems, though:

1. I would often glitch out through platforms/walls. It felt very unstable, like at any moment I was going to glitch.

2. The controls are clumsy. Jumping feels sluggish and it's hard to tell when you can jump and when you can climb.

Overall, the climbing itself felt unnecessary. I wish it would have just focused on jumping.

3. The graphics, while beautiful, could be misleading. There's one part in the second area that looks like there's just a bunch of grass, but they're actually dangerous spikes. I found them difficult to see.

4. The rewind mechanic, while neat, has its problems. In the afore-mentioned blue area (where the acoustic piano music plays), I'd constantly fall onto the prickly grass either because it was hard to see or my jumping didn't actually jump until a split second after I told it to. It would rewind and drop me on another set of spikes, which would rewind me back further and further until it almost rewound the entire level because it would rewind me into walls which would damage me and set me back yet further. It became very, very frustrating.

5. In what sense is this minimalist? I'm not sure if being a short game really counts as minimalism. Beyond that, there are a number of mechanics at play and the graphical style is very detailed (which is nice, don't get me wrong), so where is the minimalism?

Nehmulos says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Sorry couldn't play it. It was horribly slow in Firefox (GNU/Linux).
In chromium it seemed alright, but pressing space caused the page to scroll down (disregarding of element focus), so I couldn't see the game anymore.

drkrunk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:43pm

The controls of the character are a little bit hard. Other than that, I really like the concept. The art is pretty amazing and the music too.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Cool graphics, but very buggy :(

someone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Great art and atmosphere, but seemed a bit glitchy.
Web version was impossibly slow but worked ok downloaded.
Platforms were very buggy, kept dying for no reason, and I could just hold w and essentially fly across the level.
The rewind is a nice touch.

KEFIR says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Graphics, art style, mood - very very good! But strange controls a little spoils the fun..

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I can't get past "DENIAL"

But it looks nice and I can climb on air!

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I can't get past "PROOFS"

But it looks nice and I can climb on air!

May 6, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Nice, but a bit buggy... I just climbed out of the window, off to the right into complete darkness... Strange!

syner_d says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:27am

The climb was repaired and now we have double jump! xD

Broxxar says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:12am

Really nice looking visuals but the gameplay is just a bit too choppy and buggy to really play it.

May 8, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Interesting graphics, but the gameplay is very rough. The rewind after dying is a little disorienting.

FREEZX says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Very bad movement control, but i liked the graphics :)

zkenshin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Some neat touches, but I have to agree that the controls could use some tuning up. Few fixes and tune ups and the game could be a lot nicer. Good entry through. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]