April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

.claustrophobia.

by peggiosoft - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HOW YOU PLAY THE GAME
1. You need a mouse for your PC or a finger for your smartphone.
2. Ok, maybe you need also a browser that supports HTML5 stuff (no, don't even try with Internet Explorer).
3. It's all dark.
4. You have to reach the right doors to get out
5. You move the light by tapping/clicking and dragging.
6. The man follows the light.
7. There are some monsters in the room.
8. You awake them with the light.
9. If they're awake I suggest you to speed up your escape (or get out through the first door available)
10. Get hit 10 times by the monsters and you'll die.
11. Enter the right doors 7 times and you're safe.

HOW I MADE THE GAME
1. I'm lazy.
2. Programming? Look for an easy IDE for HTML5 games.
3. Found Tululoo Game Maker, that implements and recreates a small subset of Game Maker's functions.
4. Graphics? I don't wanna do anything complicated. It's minimalism, by the way.
5. Create random algorithm for floor tiles. Other sprites are shapes taken from random games.
6. Music? Do I need a real song?
7. Or should I create a random algorithm that plays noises and piano notes? Yep, this one.
8. Oh, it's 4 AM, I think I should submit what I've done.

- - -

Yeah. In the end it could have been A LOT better, specially, A LOT more playable.
I'd appreciate your feedbacks, it's my 2nd Ludum Dare so I'd be thankful if you give me more motivation for the next one!

Peace.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#163Mood3.46
#294Audio3.13
#306Innovation3.44
#410Humor2.46
#479Overall3.24
#584Theme3.51
#589Fun2.95
#683Graphics2.88
#1471Coolness44%

Comments

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

I really like this mechanic of moving the light source instead of the player itself. Its easy however to shake the light over the map quickly to discover the exits and find the monsters.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Nice idea, using same "thing" to explore for goal and control + beware monsters..

qgi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Well done! Cool atmosphere, nice gameplay and great music.

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Quite nice atmosphere. Didn't find anything the first map, it just went on to the next anyway.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Cool idea, really hard though.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Nice little game. Well done

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

I love the music, and the graphics are neat. It seemed easy to figure out where the monsters were without waking them up, though, which made the whole thing a bit easy.

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

I like the concept and the implementation, but it's a little too easy.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Not bad for your second LD. Keep it going, I want to see what else you have up your sleeves!

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I won the game! After I accidentally walked into the green door when I was supposed to walk into the red door. EFF GREEN DOOR!

Also, I don't know what any of the monsters actually look like because I'm a big scaredy and kept the light on the guy the whole time; if I saw anything at the edge of the light I ran the other way. :-)

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Unique gameplay. Awesome mood. Kept urging the man to move faster!

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Moody and silly at the same time. I like the mechanic, and I like the look of your monsters. Almost scary.

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49am

Ok, you're all right, the game is a bit too easy. You see, I didn't have much time to get it tested by someone else...

For me, a countdown would have been perfect to force the player to go faster.
Any other ideas to make it more difficult?

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Nice entry seriously!

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:59pm

so simple and so scary! could be enanched but stilla very good entry for the competition.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Well, done, it makes me really anxious!

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Not bad.

davidwparker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20am

Cute game. I really liked your "non-music" music :) It was really good.

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:00am

That was pretty interesting, if a bit short. This would have also worked well in the "indirect action" LD (like one of the early ones)

Skoggy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:39am

Cool concept. Very simple and nice. Jumped at the sound of a monster the first time! :)

fakeyou says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:16pm

The dragging of the light gave me some issues, it would regularly select the game which was very annoying.

Other than that nice game!

theomnis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Awesome! The monsters look really scary the first time you see them.

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:18am

I like the mood!!
Good job :D

May 2, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Not bad, nice mood!

dsoft20 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:59am

Nice take on the theme, and nice graphics too :D

naufr4g0 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:42am

I like game idea and the screaming sound! :D

voxel says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:53am

haha that scream. megapoints for audio for that

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]