April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bodyguards and Assassins

by Hectate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a chess variant. It requires a chess/checkers board, 6 black pawns, 5 white pawns, and the white king. The submission consists of an SVG board with the necessary pieces and rules. The game could be played entirely in Inkscape (or another SVG editor), but a printable version is included as well. More details in the announcement post: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/28/bodyguards-and-assassins-chess-variant/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#365Innovation3.37
#505Humor2.30
#721Overall3.00
#722Theme3.37
#731Fun2.79
#906Graphics2.59
#1036Mood2.36

Comments

rimrul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41pm

well played hectate...

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47pm

I clicked everywhere and I even tried using the arrow keys but nothing would move.

delfino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Neat idea, and as someone with a chessboard I can play it without printing anything out! Very minimalist in technology, I appreciate the non-video games as well. Good job! To me the toughest thing about these kind of games is getting a big enough sample to playtest for balancing

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Interesting approach, good to see a non-video game- game! Interesting idea!

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Very original game idea :) "How" to play it

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:09pm

real games wow!

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Nice idea and nice game. It's simple and fun. But I think there should be more bodyguards.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Really like the concept. You should really think about implementing this as an actual videogame why multiplayer if you can.

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09pm

I'm conflicted. This is not a video game, but the rules actually doesn't state that it should be. It just sorts of assumes it. I'm mostly positive, though.

From a practical point of view, however, it's difficult for me to play test this :(

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40pm

nice

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Wowowow!

May 1, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Nice! I was wondering how many people would make "unplugged" games.

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Pretty cool idea here.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Played against myself (in Inkscape), white won :) Well played on the unplugged thingy.

Fnkee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Love it. Fun to see someone do boardgames for once!

Jarrett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Cool game :)

Lafolie says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Wow.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Very cool idea ;) Maybe make the king more powerful and give 1 or 2 assassins special abilities :)

Canobie says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Nice!

May 6, 2013 @ 7:52am

FULL MARKS FOR ANALOG SUBMISSION.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]