April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Skip on Slabs

by Lyonsbanner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi everybody !

It's my second time to participate at Ludum Dare (And sorry for my english).

This time, I present you "Skip on Slabs", a kind of puzzle game and a maze.

First, select a level. Next, choose a direction and the number of step in order to move the green square. Collect the coins (or potatos) and reach the purple slab to exit.

I experienced EaselJS but unfortunately, although I learn a lot with this language, I havn't be able to integrate the images correctly. In the end, I had to give it up.

There only 3 levels. I wanted to integrate some bonus, malus and ennemy. Actually, I could put these on the game, but without the images, it became more difficult to distinguish from other elements.

At last, I guess I followed the theme :).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#812Humor1.89
#816Theme3.27
#971Innovation2.53
#1194Mood2.00
#1242Graphics2.06
#1268Fun1.94
#1274Overall2.27

Comments

nSun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47am

J'aime bien cet esprit d'économie de moyen.
Il ne manque qu'un petit reset des listes <select> entre deux niveaux, sinon on est obligé de changer d'option quand bien même c'est la bonne qui paraissait sélectionnée.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:07am

Not sure if abstracting movement out to menus is a minimization or an increase in complexity, but I like the intent.

May 3, 2013 @ 2:48am

Having to input each command one at a time seems a little burdensome, maybe if you had a limited number of commands you could use and had to plan out the whole level.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Feels a bit limited as it stands. Some more complex programming of the moves would be an interesting add on... perhaps entering all the moves for a level then running the whole lot, rather than one move at a time ?

Zccc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Really simple, but nice

rezzish says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:30pm

This kind of input makes me want to queue up all my commands and run it all at once.

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Hmm, Interesting entry. I found a bug, where I died in the third level, and when I tried again, the maze image had shifted down a number of steps, but my character re-appeared at the top of the screen.

Thanks for the game!

Sebastian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:57am

I would have liked to have a countdown timer during which time I had to input all instructions (preferably via directional keys and numpad) and then the whole level would be run through. As it stands it's a nice idea, but the controls are frustrating and the gameplay much too easy.

My Milked Eek says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:05pm

It was ok.

I would have liked to be able to queue my actions, perhaps add some loops in the queue (etc).
And a score based on how many inputs it took me to finish.

kyru says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Good start to something here, needs a little more of a challenge or puzzle to be complete.

Super Hamster says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Interesting game idea but you can only fail by not paying attention. I wish there was some way to make it more challenging such as a timer which you have to beat the level faster then. Also, the game was too short in my opinion. There was a bug once where I could only see like 1 tile because all the tiles were pushed down under the screen. Good job though.

itsZN says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Nice idea, but a little hard to control. It would be cool if you could set multiple actions in one go.

garygreen says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:57pm

There's nothing wrong with your English. :-) I quite liked the idea of controlling the moves in this way, but would have liked more of a challenge, which is what I think you were hoping to achieve too with more time. The visual audio cues made me smile. "Tinkle!" :-)

foul says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Good use of the theme :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]