April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pete Hated Circles

by bgr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Piet Mondrian hated circles and used to capture them in rectangles by splitting the canvas into two, four, six...

Known bugs:
* buggy zooming into next level
* wide levels get cut off, don't fit the screen
* rarely splitting line gets in wrong position
* rarely balls get stuck at the boundary

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#69Theme4.16
#257Fun3.34
#443Graphics3.19
#447Overall3.27
#690Humor2.05
#696Mood2.74
#987Innovation2.50

Comments

Kitch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

I liked it. really nice zoom in transitions, and it appears to never paly the same way twice.. (at least the way I play games) It's that kind of polish i really appreciate in LD. good work.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

Be advised that "Web" means Flash Player.

I played a game like this on my TI calculator, and it was kinda fun. It's weird that you can split an already filled-in area, though.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

yet an other mondriand game :P
it looks very good and it plays good too, until you find the bugs...

I like the connection between the theme and the mechanics ;)

Norgg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08am

Really nice connection between the theme and the gameplay. Was hoping at the end it'd zoom all the way out and show the fractal mess you'd created.

techmonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19am

Fits the theme perfectly, and has a really intuitive fluid play through. Nice work

bgr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21am

Thanks for positive comments everyone :)
It was planned to zoom out all the way instead of game over screen, didn't have time to implement it :/
Splitting of white areas was supposed to be counted as a "mistake move" since I planned to count the score based on number of splits, less splits - higher score. But then I realized having no score at all is MORE MINIMALISTIC :P (actually time remaining was minimalistic)

Overall I'm satisfied as it is (made in 12 hours), except the real killer bug when next level is wide and gets larger than the screen.

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:32pm

An interesting take on good ol' Xonix. A slight issue that isn't mentioned above is that the sides of the game area are cut off by the frame, so the circles sometimes go out of sight.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Good idea.

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16pm

oh, I see, like the game where you have to create big circles by holding the button. smart. sad you didn't do any sfx where the game would offer so many possibilities.

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Really like the way you incorporated minimalistic art into the game. The bugs are an annoyance but you can avoid them most of the time.

My biggest issues were that there wasn't any real indicator on how well I was doing other than the number of balls I had - perhaps the number of frames I'd created would have been a nice figure to have.

Also I couldn't get past the end game screen, not sure if I was pressing the wrong thing or if it's a known bug or what, but I just wanted to try again and didn't seem to have an option to do so.

Overall very cool :)

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:13am

Nice job! Love me some screen splitting action (used to love Qix back in the day). It got a little confusing when I had to clear a room with multiple balls, so it would be nice to let you know if you have effectively split one ball screen enough. Would also like some audio and a way to restart without reloading. Nice job!

May 1, 2013 @ 4:15am

Love the name and the transitions between levels. Great stuff!

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Nice game, very minimalist :)

patrickward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I found this to be quite fun. I dug the never-ending transitions deeper into the painting. The mechanics worked great. The title made me laugh. At first, I missed the player boxes disappearing on the lower left when I would miss a line, so I wasn't sure why the game was over. It's hard to see them when you're playing, so you're not sure if you're in danger of losing. Otherwise, stellar effort.

f7f5 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Solid entry. Not the most original in terms of gameplay, but I loved the way you merged the theme into a classic game. The transitions were also cool.

SmilingCat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:29pm

This reminded me bit of the old arcade game Qix. In fact, I almost expected a bonus of some sort when I trapped 2 balls in separate boxes. I liked how it works with the theme!

plash says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:16am

Notes:

- I like the cut effect. This game reminds me of QIX.
- Oh, cool, it just transitions to the ball's area of the screen.
- Nice color choices.
- Hm. If I click around on the screen when it says "GAME OVER" I can continue to play.
- It should not accept user input when the game ends.
- These transitions are really nice, apart from the way it overlaps rectangles on the previous position. Shouldn't be too hard to fix that?

Things I would change:

- Make the transition use the existing rectangle. Rotate screen if it is too wide/tall and scale appropriately.
- Add some chill music. And a sound effect to go with the splitting effect.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:47am

Good job. The game seems to loop.

Bernhard says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:06am

Pretty good qix clone, the transitions are what made it!

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice and fun gameplay. Good entry!

0beah says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Really like the art style here, feelings like I'm interacting with a painting. Great job.

JustinMullin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:49pm

I'm not usually a fan of Qix spinoffs, but this was well executed, and worked well with the (very popular, it seems) Mondrian theme. The mouse controls work really well for this, too, I think.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:20am

This reminded me of a game back in the day called Jezzball, which came on a Windows 3.1 bonus pack. I like the new artistic take on the game.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:22am

At the beginning I thought my goal was to separate balls. Once my goal became clear, I had a lot of fun, the game is well done, fitting the theme and interesting, tho lacking sound.

Still, I was disappointed not to have any score at the end. A ladderboard would be extraordinary, but a regular score marker anywhere would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]