April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Quest

by vinull - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple "Adventure" - all of the 3D models were made in Unity, keeping things "minimal". Sounds were created with BFXR and music in FL Studio 10. Paint.Net and Audacity were also used for a few tasks.

NOTE: Mac and Linux were built on Windows, sorry have I no way to test these and hope that Unity's export feature works!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#183Audio3.34
#326Mood3.18
#485Fun3.06
#487Humor2.32
#520Overall3.20
#530Graphics3.06
#559Theme3.53
#982Innovation2.51
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:59am

Neat! Minimal Zelda to the max! I admit I didn't get very far, but it's nicely done.

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:59am

With minimal modeling, you were able to keep a consistent mood and style. Great game for 48 hours.

jpcote says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

Enjoyable zelda-like game with Minecraft look :) Nice work !

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05am

Feels pretty nice, except for the combat. It seems like its impossible to kill enemies without taking damage, and although health seems fairly abundant, I still find myself constantly dying (though I may just be bad).

Elrobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:17am

That was really good. A nice length to just sit down and get through, really good music, the cave was actually nicely moody and the hud display of your hp/inventory was perfect in its simplicity.

Skoggy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Cute game, didn't really understand what to do. Sword felt a bit awkward though. Thought it was a cross at first.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:30pm

The simple-shaded 3D graphics looked really good, and the gameplay was simple but tougher than I expected. Good job!

vinull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Thank you all for the comments and playing the game. The best way to fight the blobs is to kite them - hit them then move back, hit then move back, etc.

Also thank you for the comments on the music =) I posted the main theme to soundcloud https://soundcloud.com/vinull/quest-main-theme-for-ld48

May 1, 2013 @ 12:19am

Cool take on minimalism! I also liked the music and the colorful graphics. It might need an option to use the mouse to look around, as turning with WASD is soooo slow... :)

kibertoad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:20am

It was OK.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:23am

Good work for that short time... like the dungeon very much... good mood... but the movement of the character is a little bit to slow...the enemys behind you, can attack you 3 time before you turned around..

Mark Hildreth says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:28am

The combat and movement was a bit rough, but I enjoyed the overall atmosphere. The music was a very nice addition.

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:48am

Basic 3D arpg boiled down to the essentials. I enjoyed it, though found it very difficult to progress purely because of the damage out/damage in ratio. Well implemented however, and enjoyable. I ended up playing a couple of times. :)

ming_tea says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:34am

This fits the theme to a tee. A great coffee break game.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:48am

First of all, thanks for playing my game!

I found the music very fitting and the dungeon looked amazing. The combat and the movement were rather tedious and I didn't enjoy them. Congratulations on your game, though!

recursor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:22am

Reminds me of the old Atari Adventure game. Nice job.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:03am

Seems like a cross between the Legend of Zelda and Minecraft, or a 3D Dot Game Heroes in first person view.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:22am

The Linux build worked on my Ubuntu system after upgrading to 13.04 Raring Ringtail. I also had to "# sudo apt-get install ia32-libs" to install the libGLU.so.1 shared library, and "# chmod u+X ./quest". It ran fine, but there is about a 30 second load time where it just displayed a blank window.

vinull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:26am

@GatechGrad - very cool to know. Did you have the same process to build and run your game on Linux since you used Unity too?

vinull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:27am

@recursor - thank you! all these kids here with their minecraft and zeldas were making me feel really old!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:39am

cool game man -- not bad for only using unity for 2 weeks -- great effort!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:53am

I didn't make a Linux build for the LD compo, but it looks like it's simple as changing the target platform in the build settings. I'll probably make a Linux build this weekend to see how it does.

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:01am

I love this one! the music is bouncy and old-school!

gregdevice says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:06am

I liked it! Combat was hard in it's own way. I like the blocky style. Could see this applied to the cave details and monsters. Thanks!

May 2, 2013 @ 7:43am

Great little abstraction of an RPG. Nice transition from overworld to under.

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:40am

Cool game! I got the chalice and made a mad dash back to king potato.

Jiggawatt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:50am

Not a fan. Awkward yet generic gameplay in a programmer art world. The lack of mouselook feels limiting. The audio is the most worthwhile part, I think.

zkenshin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Very nice music. :)

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Great game!

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Congratulations on being very creative on the 3D art for this one.

Onto the game:
Music is OK.
Often times I got hit by the blue thing then I couldn't move nor attack.
It is a bit hard to hit the enemy without being hit.
Constantly dying because I kept getting cornered on odd situations. Couldn't get very long on the game because of that.

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Interesting game. Good job on creating a world to explore in a short amount of time. (The death animation of the spheres were pretty cool too)

cableplays says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:39am

Fun but easy to die!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]