April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Y&P

by tobbez - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Second time participating, first time in compo. Didn't really like the theme, since it didn't really provide a lot of inspiration.


Sorry, no linux build. See source link for build instructions if you want to build it yourself. Caveat (fixed now, see below): it may run a lot slower than intended (it did on the one machine I tried it on).

UPDATE: Added a version where the framerate issue should be fixed (so the game should run properly on both Windows and Linux now).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#847Theme3.23
#875Humor1.82
#1021Audio1.63
#1220Mood1.89
#1268Fun1.94
#1304Graphics1.80
#1319Innovation1.72
#1323Overall2.06

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Bit annoying that the character also randomly respawns when a potato is collected. It loses it's flow, for me at least... Other than that, good effort.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:14am

As LrdKzrth said, the respawning is rather irritating and I was a bit confused about the timer, which seemed to display something like "half seconds" instead of actual seconds. Making sure that it runs equally on every system is kind of essential for this kind of game.
But I have to admit, despite being overly simplistic the game worked for me. I wanted those potatoes and I got them. 36 to be exact. I'm full now. Thank you. ;)

johnste says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:38am

Very simple game. I agree with the previous comments in that the random respawning breaks the flow quite a bit. I got 33 potatoes.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:34am

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

jamioflan says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Surprisingly addictive, but I feel like there's too much randomness for it to be skill based.
Very minimalist though!

stqn says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Very easy to build for Linux (git clone https://github.com/tobbez/LD26.git && cd LD26/LD26 && make). Works fine but the game is a bit too easy. I got 31, then 44 on my second try.

DkCub23 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Very minimalist. Somewhat addicting. I can't tell if you slowly gain acceleration as you collect more potatoes, but if you don't, that might be a good idea to add into the game.

dertom says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:00am

Hmm,..this is reaaallly minimalism. So you hitted the theme with a 100% blast. In my eyes the game itself lacks of challenge but a +1 from me for doing it in c++

Jim Haslett says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:37am

It would have been better if the player didn't randomly move after catching the potato.

KHANanaphone says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:06am

Haha, potatoes.

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:37am

I wish you had given the folder a more unique name, you have no idea how many entries have unzipped to the same ld26 folder and it's a mess to untangle them xD

The game itself is alright. I too wish the player position didn't randomize but it makes sense to not give any kind of advantage before the turn begins. Only managed to get 23, but the game told me I was the best! :D

bowlercaptain says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:53am

Seems to be a reflex test - once you know the direction from you to the potato, there is very little strategy at all involved in reaching it. The major challenge is figuring out that direction quickly. Works as a Bronco Trolleys-esque mini-game.

hissssssssss says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:21am

The scoring seems too random, since the spawn distance is random. My scores were 9, 11, and 31.

dalbinblue says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:21am

That is certainly minimal. I'm also apparently not that good compared to other reviewers as I only got 16. As with what other's said, randomly moving the player is jarring and make getting into a groove difficult.

DdlyHeadshot says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Not bad - simple concept yet quite challenging. Could be a great little game to port to simple platforms, e.g. mobile systems, 2nd generation consoles, 1980s computers, etc...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]