April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Barman

by Nisshoku - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second entry in Ludum Dare! I interpreted the theme as "doing something as efficiently as possible". In this game you take the role of a barman. You get in orders one by one, but to serve everyone in time you will have to approach things smartly. Try to find a method that works for you.

Use WASD to move and SPACE to interact.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#234Fun3.38
#434Humor2.41
#521Graphics3.07
#584Overall3.14
#598Mood2.83
#647Audio2.54
#923Innovation2.62
#1282Theme2.46
#1471Coolness44%

Comments

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:44am

Nice and cool game! Great job ;)

SirJson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23am

The animation is a bit laggy

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Oooooh, nice game! The movement was laggy and slow but the idea was fun :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Fun! Fast paced button mashers are always fun! Not that much in theme, but other than that good job!

Skulls says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:17pm

There is something so relaxing about this game.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31pm

At first the controls seemed strange, but you can quickly get used to them. The gameplay was really neat, though the best strategy is to always pick four items and place them on the counter. If placed items could spoil after 30 seconds of not completing an order, the game could be more balanced.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Nice work :)
There should be some restriction on how many drinks should you make for the orders, so that the game would make a better challenge for the player (right now you can make as many things as you want and just place them on the counter whenever). I like it though :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Nice idea and solid implementation. Works very well. Slightly tricky to move the guy to pick up the coffees when you're in a rush, but aside from that, very well done!

antonijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I like the idea. The game was quite challenging once you started it, but you kind of got into a rythm as you played it more and more.

wolfadex says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Reminded me a lot of Diner Dash and Tapper but in a very good way.

Nisshoku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:03am

Thanks for the reactions people! I agree I should have put some restriction on how easily you can produce drinks or how you can just prepare way more than necessary beforehand. I'll take your suggestions into account should I ever feel like continuing this game. :)

zkenshin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Fun game. :)

Kom says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:54am

Very fun, very well executed. This has a lot of potential.

Clavus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Fun game, well executed formula :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Fun! too many ice teas pushed me over the edge.

LTyrosine says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I liked the sounds and is fun to play. Good work!

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:00pm

I felt like an authentic barman, money money!
Instructions must be more clear in the begining, to know where the player has to go.

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Doesn't seem to be on-theme at all. I made it through the game and had fun though.

Ninja Doggy says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:00am

Fast pace game. 8/10

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]