April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mammoth

by jackspinoza - Jam Entry

i wouldn't bother if I was you. comedy about being stuck in the wrong body. not based on dogme 95 criteria and lugubrious beyond belief. sorry in advance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#77Innovation(Jam)3.59
#121Mood(Jam)3.47
#124Humor(Jam)2.85
#150Audio(Jam)3.33
#341Graphics(Jam)2.94
#419Overall(Jam)2.76
#483Theme(Jam)2.53
#547Fun(Jam)1.81

Comments

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I'm sure it's a wonderful game, but as soon as the part of the cutscene with the bananna came up I quit the game... sorry

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

haha, I probably would've quit way before that.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Is this a parody of garbage like Heavy Rain? If so, bravo, I guess.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

I've been playing for 2 minutes and I can tell that this is something special. I'm going to complete this comment at intervals to get the full experience down. Firstly though, I have to complement the author on deciding to take a huge amount of crack before making games. Very brave.

Update 1 - Comparing steak to lettuce is a running theme
Update 2 - Did you buy the sex doll for this, or do you just have one lying around?
Update 3 - We are stalking a girl. Shes turning round...thank fuck she's smiling. I couldn't have handled a rape minigame.
Update 4 - Oh god, is the sex doll bleeding?! DON'T YOU TOUCH HER!
Update 5 - Segment B, I hope this is a weird as the la...oh god, he's wearing the sex doll.
Update 6 - Level 4. This is too much for 1am.
Update 7 - Oh boy, Level 6. This game is getting denser and denser. I think the creator was coming down.
Update 8 - The return of the sex doll costume!
Update 9 - He's hitting his guitar with a small stick and wearing an accordion. You can't make this up.
Update 10 - This is getting weirdly intimate. I KNOW TOO MUCH ABOUT YOU.
Update 11 - They're crushing limpets. I get the feeling this goes on forever.
Update 12 - I...won? I...I...I don't know what to make of the world anymore.


I really don't know if this is serious or not, and I can't really call it a game. Either way, this will be the most unique LD entry this year. 5 stars for insanity.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:15am

mhmhmhm.... okay... thats interesting. It is kinda art... nor a game... but yeahh it is minimalistic i think :D Okay its a minimalistic arty game! right? hope that it is... really :D

sigfig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18am

this was interesting! i can appreciate submitting something so notgame-y for the theme. i was pretty frustrated with it. the film itself seems like a composition of random footage with an essay likely not written for the game, but regardless of intent the dissonance involved in watching is kind of thought provoking. does this mean something? am i playing a game? am i watching an avant garde piece about the human condition? or am i just subject to the silliness of randomly composited media?

thank you for being different

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:59am

Very...interesting. It's a cool concept but I found that the gameplay and the movies were there just for the sake of being there and served no purpose along with what the narrator was saying. A cool idea that could go a long way with some more player immersion and control. Props for doing something different though!

Farjuan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11am

This was so deep

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:23am

Wow this is a very surreal yet real game, lots of valid points. I would have enjoyed just watching though :P

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43am

I wrote a comedy sketch once about a man so lazy that he climbed inside an elephant and plugged himself in at the navel as an unborn elephant baby. This man... was my former roommate.

Our local zoo would not let us film establishing shots with him near the back side of an elephant. They were afraid "it would set a dangerous precedent."

Just a thought that came up while playing; I can't BEGIN to imagine why. ;-)

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:52am

Thank you for sharing this.

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:29am

A fascinating journey... thanks for sharing.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50am

That was something. :)

yinbar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:53am

Hmmmmm... not sure about this. Sorry I didn't get too far (I think) but definitely a unique idea, and very interesting presentation.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02pm

My God, it's... Weird o_o

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27pm

That's horrific oO I don't really see the theme since the storyline is deep and awesomely weird oO The result is incredible ! Congratulations for that "thing". After finishing it... I don't know what to do of my life anymore ...

Mase says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:48am

I couldn't finish it... It was like sitting through art school video critiques again ... or that really tedious Chris Marker movie (not the time travel one). Also I believe that Dogme 95 is a set of guidelines for making a terrible movie... hmmm... plus Dogme stuff is supposed to be in color... and the non-diegetic voice-over seems like a big no-no as well. Kudos on bringing some obscenity to the competition though... I just played through your Mitt game which also really raised the bar in that regard.

Norgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:59am

A work of post-something. Or perhaps post-post-something. I suspect that it may even be infinitely recursively post.

I give it post/post.

jackspinoza says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:38am

fun comments, thanks
@ mase & yinbar, ten points for calling a spade a spade, have a biscuit!
Anyone want to buy a watch? Also I can get you a dog if you want, just say, I have "friends".

Dir3kt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:33pm

This was something. I don't know what. But I went through it.

May 3, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Hey man, I might just actually play one of your games here and now!
Or maybe later... probably later...

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:20pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

Mesene says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I'm glad to see something diferent. thanks :)

May 3, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Hey that's amazing... there is still that much snow around where you live in late april?!? And you got all those people to pose/act for you in 48 hours, and still had the time to make the music and the "gameplay" (being able to press up or down was, like, amazing to say the least...) ?!?
A-MA-ZING, I must say, and enjoyable too, but at a certain point I just went to the bathroom, and when I came back I quit the game, but I'll try the whole thing from the beginning tomorrow... or the day after, maybe... ! XD

Or next week...

I'll rate then, don't worry! Just can't rate it without having played the WHOLE game ! :)

jackspinoza says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:52am

some of it wasn't filmed during the jam (the sea spitting, table dance, snow scenes) but I came into possession of it during (I asked my friends if they had some stock footage of performances they could send me). I'm obviously not in it to win it, just wanted to make something and share it. If it bothers anyone I'm more than happy to get it removed.

May 4, 2013 @ 7:38am

Oh sorry man, I didn't notice you were in the jam, I thought this was a 48 hours thing...
Don't remove it, please... I'm very sorry but it got quite late yesterday and I didn't pay enough attention!! Very, very sorry, just forget what I said!! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:24pm

OMG I paid too much for my shoes. Nice work on this piece. I did not finish because my blade was dull.

Aceria says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Thanks for your comments on our entry. Yours is... Unique? :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]