April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Game Formerly Known as BlockBuilder

by RexSpaceman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game Formerly Known as BlockBuilder

LUDUM DARE COMPO #26 - MINIMIALISM

The goal of the game is to snap blocks together to fit the missing pattern in the magenta blocks.

Use Left Mouse Button (LMB) to click and drag the cube to any sides of another anchored cube.
Right Mouse Button (RMB) allows swiveling of camera, necessary for some more complex shapes.

There is no scoring, just win or lose.

======== Installation ========

Extract rar

If WINDOWS
- Launch blockbuilder.exe
If MAC
- Launch blockbuilder.app
If LINUX
- Launch blockbuilder

Disclaimer: Both the Linux and Mac versions are untested.

======== Difficulty Levels ========

Easy (+) - Five successful matches
Medium (++) - Twelve successful matches
Hard (+++) - Twenty successful matches

Cubes:
Teal - Locked anchor block to build from
Red - Unanchored block, can be anchored against teal or green blocks
Green - Anchored block
Magenta - Obstacles

======== Development Info ========

Made in Unity3D
Beveled cube in Maya
Textures in Photoshop
Audio in Audacity
Estimated 20 hours

RexSpaceman
http://www.twitter.com/RexSpaceman
rexspaceman@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#216Humor2.87
#439Audio2.89
#664Theme3.43
#698Overall3.04
#722Graphics2.82
#731Fun2.79
#758Mood2.68
#811Innovation2.79
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

zaratustra says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:50pm

wah wah

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00am

Nice idea, well implemented! Reminds me of BBC's "Hole in the wall", just without the silly contestants in shiny gimp suits.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Haha fun game, reminds me of that game show!
I found it kinda difficult to maneuver fast enough, you had to be fast. But that's good, I like it! :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Wah, wah. Bring back the idiots in the funny suits!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I really liked it, I would have loved for it to have been longer, building more complex shapes under a tighter time constraint. Hopefully this is just the beginning for this.

Great job!

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Found myself laughing at the wah wah. Love that. Fun little game. The harder levels really are quite difficult though.

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Pretty nice entry, though sometimes the cubes refuse to lock into place, making some of the shapes quite annoying to do. (I was playing the web version in case that has anything to do with it.)

simvig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Very nice idea and clean execution. Maybe the blocks should be locked to two dimensions so they're easier to position.

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:55pm

I dont like this ortho view, i think it makes putting blocks on the left side almost impossible.

UntitledQ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Sometimes it's hard to tell which face of which block you are currently pointing at due to all the glow without any shading on the surfaces.
Otherwise a fun little game. Perhaps randomly generating shapes would extend the gameplay by a few minutes.

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Once I got to look the top left corner to see the shape rather than the 3d thing, I got a lot quicker. I acapella sound effects btw. :P

scriptorum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Good game. A bit too hard at medium. I can think of two improvements I'd like. When holding a block, add an indication to the face of the block I'm pointing to, so I know I'm in alignment and can release it there. Early on, I thought I was suppose to match the side of the carried box (rather than the pointer) to the side of fixed box. Also, I'd replace RMB free camera movement with fixed - just flip me to the other angle when I tap RMB. It's frustrating to lose because you can't get to the other side quick enough.

koblaja321 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Excellent sound effects

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Could be better with some minor changes... just tiny tweaks to the positioning, so you can more clearly see where you are about to put a block. Also bit frustrating to return to start after a fail, but this is hardcore I guess... Very nice mechanic. If either of those things fixed I could play it for hours.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Nice idea! It's a bit finicky with stacking cubes unless the camera angle is just right, but cool mechanic.

RexSpaceman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

All good comments. The biggest thing that bothers me when playing it and as the comments support is the snapping/positioning. I'm using raytraces from the mouse pointer, so the actual block position when being moved is absolutely meaningless. If I had to do it again or improve on it I'd like to use a combination of raytraces and block position checking. Oh well.

Also, ideally given more time, produce a better learning curve, and more complex shapes.

The fixed camera is an interesting idea. I originally wanted to do a free form stacking game, where you had to match a 3d pattern, but couldn't quite get it together mentally, but the camera was a remnant of that.

Thanks for the feedback guys and gals!

Stuffie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I like the game, though as pointed out the mouse positioning and snapping can get really frustrating at higher speed levels and theres no chance using a trackpad. Love the sound effects though and minimal if eye melting colour scheme.

stromchin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I'm an idiot, it took me a while to remember that you could turn the camera...

May 8, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Nice audio, the game is not bad, too... but also not the most innovative thing I've seen here...

Prelucid says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Funny sounds

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]