April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

M

by Xeke_Death - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I present: 'M'...
Minimal title, a single letter...
Minimal game play, you click on a square, then do it again...
Minimal Colour, everything is greyscale except the check boxes so you can see when they are disabled... (that is when they are grey...)
Minimal sound, there is one looping music track...

Things that are not so minimal are the options... Changing the option combinations change the difficulty of the game...

The aim: Click as many squares as you can...

If you feel like taking a screenshot of your Stats page at the end and posting a link, that'd be awesome...
If I can find a host for the file, I can try set up a database to post scores to...

My final blog post, with some notes and design decisions is here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=19338

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#259Audio3.20
#505Theme3.58
#894Humor1.80
#945Mood2.48
#1061Innovation2.36
#1108Graphics2.29
#1132Overall2.56
#1238Fun2.00
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

PixelIndigo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

I really enjoyed that melody. How did you record your guitar?

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

The menu was a good idea and the music is great, but it broke not long after starting. :(

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Very minimal! The music gave it a really nice mood.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:07pm

The music is really good.

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

@PixelIndigo: I plug it into my sound card. I spent a fair bit to get a card I could plug directly into.

@Mythalore: Broke how? :(

I'm quite pleased that the music is getting praise. I woke up with 2 hours to go, thought it up, recorded it and put it in there. :D

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:47am

Yes, the music is pleasant.

I'm sorry to say, but there just isn't much to this game to speak of. Unless I just didn't get to most of it, to me it was just a very slow fade in to white which leaves a square you must then click. I didn't see any noticeable change after a few clicks and I'd had enough. Is there any challenge to speak of? And again, the slow fade became tedious as I waited for a white square to show up.

Sadly, the actual game here is pretty much non-existent and the graphics don't pop with style, so it basically just leaves the pleasant acoustic tune.

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32am

@Cybearg: The initial game mode is exactly what you describe, as I was keeping it minimal, keeping to a single mechanic (click on the square when you see it). If you don't want to wait for the next white screen, add black shapes too. If that is still too long, change to fast mode. If you want a challenge, try White and Black shapes, Survival mode, Click and Speed hardcore, and moving.
The aim is simply to see how high a score you can get, the same as your game.

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:10am

Nice take on the theme. The options are interesting and mix up the gameplay in fun ways. Music is good too and helps establish the mood.

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:08pm

The options make it more confusing than it is, how can I choose if I don't have a clue what's ahead?

Xeke_Death says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:44pm

@messiano: Hit the start button and find out what happens!

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:31am

You don't get much more minimal than this. Like others, I really enjoyed the music. I also like how you gave the player so many choices of how to play the game.

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:02am

I appreciate all the options, and the music really adds to the mood of the game.

May 28, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Thank you for working so hard for us.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]