April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CREPITUS

by ENDESGA - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The World has been overtaken by messy disgusting, explosive creatures; the CREPITI

Clear their mess by shooting their horrid faces with 11 types weapons including the AK47, Atomizer, and the secret Potato Launcher!

CLEAN THE WORLD! SURVIVE THE LONGEST! COLLECT COINS! UNLOCK NEW GUNS!

Some random characters you can play include:
-Jason
-Miranda
-Serah
-The Duke
-Glash

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#343Graphics3.35
#470Fun3.08
#512Audio2.77
#543Humor2.24
#778Overall2.96
#838Mood2.60
#1200Innovation2.12
#1317Theme2.31
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

The exe link appears to be broken :(

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

oh damn!
I'll fix it now

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33am

Still having trouble with the link, I ran mega.co.nz through isup.me and it said it isn't a site, perhaps try uploading it to mediafire or something? Mind you it could be something weird on my end.

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47am

Well, it works fine for me :/
Here's the link using MEDIAFIRE: http://www.mediafire.com/?1ia3z2cp5esjn1c

-ENDESGA

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

Super work. Great game play. I am very glad to be killing those disgusting Crepiti.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51am

Good fun. Love the art and sound. The controls were tight but they'd be a lot better with short hopping (varying jump heights based on how long you hold jump).

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

Looks and sounds good. Plays well too but I think the Crepiti took too many hits to die and it took the action out of it.

I'm also missing how you used the theme. I'm guessing it's the fact that you used pixel art. I love pixel art, but I think just going for pixel art (or brightly colored squares for that matter) without exploring the theme in a different wat is a bit of an easy solution since it still allows you to make just about any game you want.

MathiO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I like the reload mechanic, it gives it a bit more depth. The fire and smoke effects are very nice.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Nice little game you have here. You managed to fit lots of features into this and its fun to play. good job.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

Gameplay reminded me of Super Crate Box, which is never a bad thing. The enemies seemed to have just a little too much health, and it felt like the action was slower because of it.

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Thanks everyone for your feedback!
The Crepiti have a lot of health because it's support to be challenging ;)
Eventually when you unlock things like the Water gun, it becomes somewhat easier to kill them (one hit kill :P)
I'm not too sure if I should change it :)

Thanks again :)
-ENDESGA

Holofire says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice little platformer. I didnt like the controls. Im a WSAD guy :D. Great job anyway!

ENDESGA says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:53pm

@Holofire
Thanks man, I was going to us WASD but I realised that WASD is best for games that use the mouse a lot, like minecraft.
So I went with the arrow keys ;P

Jyrkface says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:36am

Like a slowed down super crate box. The enemy health could get annoying, but also made me tense as the game went on. Reloading added to that tension for sure!

ENDESGA says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:58am

When you get to the 50coins range, the speed of the Crepiti spawning increases. And the game DOES get harder :P

davidB says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Nice tuning (control, nb life, difficulty) for a bad player like me. funny.

graytest says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Nice looking game. I had two problems with it though:
1. The enemy survived a bit too much which made it kinda tedious to shoot at them.
2. The level wasn't perfect for the game. Because it took so long to kill the enemy the only place to attack them was the big bottom level or maybe the big upper level where you had enough space to shoot at them for a while. This means that I didn't move around at all.. I just stood at the bottom holding the shoot button basically.

May 3, 2013 @ 12:04am

Not bad, reminds me of Super Crate Box :)

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:07am

Felt like Super Crate Box, with the baddies needing to take lots more bullets. Not uber original, but fun...for a bit.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:20am

The mp5k was pretty much the only weapon that was worth using until the water gun. Not hard enough enemies I'd say, and losing felt like a real chore because you didn't really work that hard to get the high score, you just had to collect the coins, and mostly I died due to losing concentration or just trying out a new weapon which had a ridiculous reloading time. When I had to start again I didn't really fancy spending the time farming a load of easy enemies to see what the next weapon would be. Super Crate Box is fun because it's hard when you start to even get 4 crates, and when you gain a weapon you have it always. Having said all that, it's nice work for 2 days! I liked the graphics!

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:02am

I wish the enemy AI was a bit smarter... because otherwise, this game was lots of fun. The weapon variety added replayablity, but I just didn't have much trouble avoiding the Crepiti due to their predictability.

The visuals really do their job well, as did the simplistic sounds. If you added more enemy types with varied behaviors I can definitely envision myself digging this game. It's pretty good as is, don't get me wrong. But I'd love to see what you do with it in the future if you continue to work on it!

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Super fun! Waiting for reload makes the tension skyrocket. Good game!!

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Interesting. I felt quite underpowered at first, but I guess that's the point of early playing of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]