April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Soldier of Yellowism

by ovenchips - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Vladimir Umanets, gallery infiltrator and supporter of the principles of Yellowism. After a two year prison sentence for defacing a Rothko at the Tate Modern, you set your sights on an exhibition of the Minimalist artist Piet Mondrian.

Use WASD (Move) + Mouse (Look) + Space (Jump) in the gallery.
Approach a painting and press Enter to play it (use arrow keys or WASD to control the yellow ball).

Notes:
The game was developed using the PlayCanvas engine. Therefore, it uses HTML5 and WebGL. Here's a run-down of supported browsers:

Chrome/Chrome OS: Runs correctly.
Firefox: You need to be using Aurora or Nightly in order to have pointer lock work in non-fullscreen mode.
Safari: UNSUPPORTED.
IE: You will be asked to install Chrome Frame if you don't already have it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#344Innovation3.40
#344Humor2.57
#397Graphics3.26
#416Overall3.30
#458Theme3.63
#694Audio2.46
#777Fun2.74
#816Mood2.62

Comments

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I couldn't unlock the other paintings.
Am I supposed to fill the entire painting with yellow?
I tried a few times and it seems pretty difficult.
This game basically like a pacman puzzle game

ovenchips says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Hi Fervir. So, it seems that if your frame rate dropped below 60FPS, the movement step was affected (silly logic bug in my code). I've patched the game, so if you clear your browser cache and play again, this should be fixed. :)

Leebo86 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I have no idea what I'm supposed to be doing...

Canobie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Very... interesting...

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Cool concept and fun!

Small suggestion for post update, could the yellow ball create a yellow trail to outline what the previous path was? Might have already been thought of but just putting it out there. That way, the player can think less of where they came from and more about where to go.

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

When I completed the first one with two seconds to spare, I was pretty pleased with myself! I would make it somewhat easier to let the 'intuitive' players get further.

larb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Nice idea. Really works out my brain. Love it!

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

This is brilliant. Probably the best innovation I've seen in gameplay so far this Ludum Dare.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Very original and entertaining entry. Vandalising paintings is hard work! Maybe you should have given the player a little longer, given that you only unlock the next painting if you get 100%. Aside from that, very nice. Good use of WebGL too!

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Is there a "final ending" if you improve on your performances, or is it just for high score? Anyway, beat all 3 paintings, it was surprisingly fun / intense. It's like a big memory game of "just how far around this block have I drawn? You need quick reflexes to change your path and get moving once it turns yellow, so that you don't waste any time. I'm giving this full 5s across the board, I'd say it embodies one of the best representations of the theme I've seen so far, while being fun to play!

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Gorgeous work. The 2D puzzle was great by itself. To add the 3D on top was super awesome.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

@Jesse111 Yeah! Exactly my thinking. I think it adds another dimension to have to remember where you've been. Maybe I could have made a trail toggable. Loving all the feedback, you crazy bunch!

Leebo86 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Ah, okay, I see now. I didn't understand the instruction of "cursor keys to vandalise". It would help if there was some visual feedback before a block turned yellow, like a trail from the yellow ball.

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11pm

interesting, a playable museo!

NuSan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Great game ! Reversing somewath the theme by making you a vandalism, and having a balance between the "realistic" 3D and the abstract 2D is a good idea. I love the generated voice, witch make the "museum" theme prety clear. I was a little puzzled until i realise i have to switch to arrow keys instead of wasd. And the game seam hard, but fair. Understanding the mecanism all by myself is also something i loke in games.
And you use PlayCanvas that i was using last LD, i wonder how much it has evolved.

thenmal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:34am

I can't seem to turn around. I got the first painting to be completely yellow, but I couldn't unlock either of the other two paintings I could see. I suspected there was a painting in the room behind me, but I couldn't turn around to see it.

TehSkull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:22am

Interesting idea, but way too difficult (or maybe I'm just bad). Also, jumping is wholly unnecessary.

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:25am

Mouse look didn't seem to work in the web version on firefox.

ovenchips says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:24am

@Uhfgood: Correct, you need Aurora or Nightly for that to work. Alternatively, the game works flawlessly in Google Chrome. (It mentions this in the notes...)

ovenchips says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:25am

@TehSkull Have you never jumped up and down on your bed? Totally unnecessary. But FUN! :)

Ismei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:53am

This definitely fit the theme. I enjoyed playing this, it really gave my brain a workout. I too would have like a trail, just so I could see where I had been as I found the more complicated pictures quite tough.

visibleatom says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:43pm

For chrome users, at least, be sure that you notice that little popup that shows up at the top of the screen asking to disable the mouse cursor, otherwise you won't be able to turn around completely.

bluescrn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Very nicely made and presented. Definitely one of the more original game mechanics that I've seen so far, and the time limites seemed well tuned, too - nice job!

May 2, 2013 @ 6:00am

This is a great combination! I love the fact athy ou can run around the "overworld", and then it turns into low-fi Pac-Man.

Nice work!

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Great idea. The 3D movement is a bit heavy but was a good insertion. I played the web version.

Yezu says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Very nice, although it did take me a while to figure out what to do.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]