April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Problem Attic

by ella guro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

4/29 UPDATE: NEW VERSION AS OF 2:32 PM PST!! FIXED COLLISION BUGS!! WOO!! CHECK IT OUT!!


by liz ryerson

2d platformer. potential seizure warning.

arrow keys to move
x to start
z to jump
r to restart level

the mouse doesn't do anything. make sure to click on the screen to make it active, though.

made in flash using stencyl. this is my first time as a solo entrant! this is my first solo game (of this size), period! i worked my butt off trying to get everything working in time, so i hope you guys enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#111Mood3.60
#125Audio3.50
#229Graphics3.60
#543Humor2.24
#560Innovation3.12
#563Overall3.16
#571Theme3.52
#940Fun2.56

Comments

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03am

Very artistic and colorful

lun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13am

Wow! Great art style! I like this!

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13am

The level design is very expressive, albeit by the time I reached "I can't remember maybe it was _" it was taking over an hour to understand each level enough to complete it.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

Nice mood here. :)

Komradus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35am

Took me a bit to figure out what had to be done but once I did everything was great.

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54am

Interesting idea, but the collisions are seriously wonky. Would have enjoyed it better if there was more clue as to what was going on. I did get the touch funky dude to go to stage and unlock more areas.

Fabien Porée says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

This is lovely. Really strange physics! I love the shy glitchy critters that take you to new levels.
I liked it when the only way to lose was to get stuck into walls, so I was a bit disappointed when you introduced enemies that make you restart the level if you touch them.
Also I had to stop at the scary red level because I couldn't figure out a reliable strategy but I'm pretty okay with that!

Porpentine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

i like the love-hate relationship the player has with the metal crosses

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

It took me a while to work out what I was doing. The mood and art on the game is really nice.

zaratustra says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Protip: As you might have noticed, making the player's hitbox be exactly the same height as the blocks makes it difficult to get through narrow passages. Great first attempt otherwise.

NiallM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

This is amazing. The visuals and sound design are fantastic, and the glitchy platformer physics really add to the oppressive atmosphere the game has.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Really uncomfortable mood, especially the touching vibrators. Got really stuck on the "i cant remember" level. The unreliable jumping is very frustrating!

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

for those who complained about the collisions/jumping: i hear you. i'm working on fixing some of the collision problems in the next day or so, i'll put an updated version then.

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34pm

NEW VERSION!! FIXED MOST OF THE COLLISION BUGS!! woo!! i updated the link. check it out if you found that off-putting before and are willing to play again.

CNIAngel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

This is. The best game. Ever. Period.

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Awesome :]

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22am

Nice game, very artistic and expressive, and I like how its very minimalistic in that sense, nice game

Husky says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:07am

I thought the collision is a little strange.
The style is interesting.
Good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:07am

I'm pretty sure this is the weirdest game I've played this LD, yet. The game has severe collision issues, and it was really hard not to get frustrated about getting stuck in walls and the like. I also got thrown off the moving platform from time to time.

Nice idea and art style, too bad it's on the verge of unplayable.

sittaman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16am

Played this for almost 20 minutes and I think I couldn't figure out what I'm supposed to do. I touched those strange glitchy squares and went into new areas but I don't know if this is all. But I think it has to do with the minimalism :D. Was centainly a good effort. Maybe some instructions and reworked controls are enough. :)

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24am

barrenszeppelin: most of the serious collision bugs have been fixed as of 4/29, as indicated above. you might want to check that version out

jonbro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:47am

gave it a play.

Your music is beautiful as always, those chords in the hub world are excellent, and the voices that are in the background are great.

I got stuck in the red world with the moving platforms. I liked that I could stand on top of the +glitch and ride it up to the exit, but I didn't get off of it in time, and it crushed me to the ceiling. Would have like to seen more of the game, it was just too much for me to get past that section :(

Fabien Porée says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Aw, I can't get past the "I can't remember" part now. That's a beautiful level though, and I love the way your character degrades.
I was afraid the fixed collisions would make the game less alien, more mundane, but nah, it worked out great. I'm glad you didn't change the way the jump works, I love that jump.

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26pm

That was an experience, loved it.

Echoing Porpentine, the metal crosses and how the relationship develops over the course of the game was really interesting. I could be way off base, but this felt intensely personal in places. I know I was probably reading way too much into everything from little incidental shapes to the text. That's not to say it was overly self-serious either, far from it, I think the game jam genesis gave it an energy & stream of thought shape (obviously jumping from one scene to the next centered around the hub).

Of course the music was brill and the sound largely too. The main theme was wonderful.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:58am

Wonderful presentation and audio, but a bit awkward to control at times. Nonetheless, great work.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:38am

Hey neat game! I liked the controls they felt like joust to me. Also cool pixel graphics.

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:19am

I enjoyed the art and the style and that things were kind of unclear and confusing. I liked that the most interesting stuff happened when you ran into those black squiggly line creatures. I found the jumping really hard to control though unfortunately and couldn't get past the room with all the platforms.

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Interesting - I really loved the music and the atmosphere. It sounded like there were snatches of voices in the background track but I couldn't quite hear it. It was too difficult for me to finish - I gave up around the part with the moving platforms.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]