April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pixl

by JaviCepa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pixl is an isometric procedurally generated platformer/infinirunner.
Find all the stupid quotes and try to get as far as you can!

Best enjoyed with a friend.

This was my first game for a LD compo.
I hope you like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#42Graphics4.17
#90Overall3.81
#124Fun3.59
#173Mood3.43
#277Humor2.69
#288Theme3.83
#326Innovation3.42
#635Audio2.56

Comments

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10am

The colour palette in this is seriously cool. I love the whole isometric lane thing. Super cool.

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11am

fun, minimalistic multiplayer game.

hughsk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14am

I dig the style of this game - would be perfect without those seams, but hey easier said then done right?

Vincenzo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19am

Cool graphics, and funny, when played with a friend :D !
Well done !

invi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

If only we could play 4 players vs with this. It would be perfect! Great job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

Effective use of minimalist graphics and entertaining gameplay. Would have been better if I had a second player but not bad played as single player either!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52am

Hah! Love it. Isometric graphics are the best. The cube racers are endearing somehow

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01am

To be honest, I expected a lot more endless runners and I expected them to be boring. But after a dozen games, this is the first I see and it is fantastic. From the colours, to the two player mode, it could use some particle effects for good fun but I didn't miss them.

Can we get an OSX download?

Ozeotropo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

Thanks everyone!

hughsk: about the seams: im planning on make the paths smooth curves but yes, that'll take quite more time

invi: 4 players? sure, why not. It'll just be 2 more lines of code. Maybe after this LD.

ananasblau: sorry about the OSX port. I can't do it from windows :(

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15am

Graphics are so cool.
Love multiplayer feature too.
This game is great, nice done.

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52am

Great look and great game!! Congrats!

ElScootro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Great game!

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

One of the best games I've played so far, really really good work!

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Very nice graphics. Not very fun to play on my own though. :)

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Looks great and plays well. Loved the colors. Good job!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Graphics are awesome, add a (better) multi player mode and some music and it'll be a solid game to play !

CheesyRamen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I really enjoyed the look of this game! Simple, yet kept me interested. Great job!

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Love the look, played single player and enjoyed it, will need to try it multiplayer another day. I felt most deaths were out of my control, but I probably just suck.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Nice game, very nice graphics!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

+Nice aesthetic, reminds me of Edge.
+Randomization.
+2 player mode.

-Movement bugs a bit. The cube gets stuck on ground when changing lanes, especially when very big.
-Random paths at times impossible to pass.
-The paths in front block the view rather fast.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Amazing art!

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

The way you can realize you took the wrong path minutes after choosing gets hilarious on multiplayer.
This is a very fun game to play, nice job, just needs an OST :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00am

Quite enjoyable, even in single player. I loved how the movement of the squares was physics based, which was quite funny to watch when I got big enough.

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:28am

really great idea. looks like a lot of fun to play. i wish there was a single player mode. it'd also be cool if there was more than two lanes. like the the whole course was all five colors. great start though. i'd love to see this expanded upon.

Ozeotropo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24am

eteeski: more lanes apperas as you make progress. The more lanes there are, the more difficult it gets to follow. Also the speed is gradually boosted.

Misfit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Nice graphics. Palette is great. Good job!

Spanda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

The Source is missing!

Ozeotropo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06pm

ooops! I moved my dropbox folder D: I'll put it back when I get home. Sorry!! :(

Ozeotropo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Fixed!

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05pm

yea cool graphics, nice job.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25pm

This is one of my favorite games! Super innovative! Great job!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26pm

love the design and it has some cool gameplay.

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I really want to like this game, but it's unplayable... I can't last more than a couple of seconds, the path just turns into something I can't get past! It looks good tough.

May 3, 2013 @ 2:46am

Clever twist on endless runners! Great job! Didn't have anyone around to try multiplayer, but single player was good fun too

Jorjon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:03am

Wow impressive runner! One of the best entries so far! But you shouldn't have used physics... there's some weird stuff happening.

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Clever look... didn't have a second person handy so have rated up a bit more than I would, looks like would be better when two!

kill0u says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Cool game :)

juaxix says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:56am

Esta guapo aunque me ha resultado un poco dificilillo de jugar, creo que es porque a veces no es claro por donde hay que tirar y la camara va bastante deprisa.
Muy buen uso del color y las interfaces, los colores bien elegidos como dicen ya por aqui otros, en resumen, muy bien

Ozeotropo says ...
Aug 11, 2013 @ 1:15am

The source code was deleted by mistake. It's now available here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/45b13q1h0wzsrap/P%C3%AFxl.rar

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]