April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rocky Flight Balloon

by Smaxx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For whatever reason you feel that you should no longer live in that deep canyon.
Your means of escape: A balloon! It's strong enough to arry you, but for some weird reason the moment you start, the canyon starts collapsing.

Can you make it out alive? (This is no endless game; you'll eventually leave the canyon.)

This game can be played with the keyboard or a gamepad.

---

The initial concept had more obstacles other than rocks (like brambles, birds, etc.), but I ran out of time. I'll probably add some later on.

---

I'll only provide a Windows binary, but the game should compile and run under MacOS as well as Linux (tested on Ubuntu x64 only). You'll just have to grab the source (as well as SFML2) and compile it yourself. Feel free to provide feedback, I'm more than happy to help getting it running on as many systems as possible.

Note regarding the Ubuntu precompiled binary: Please run the game through the shell script; this will ensure the game finds the shared libraries that are included.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#170Graphics3.74
#490Mood2.97
#505Theme3.58
#512Fun3.03
#546Overall3.18
#839Audio2.21
#1034Innovation2.41

Comments

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

Simple but fun. The normal difficulty was very easy (almost boring) but the impossible one was... well, impossible. You need something in between :]

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Nicely done, runs smoothly and looks good! Bonus points for including multiple difficulties. My only complaint is that it could really use music. Some kind of catchy chiptune loop would go a long way toward keeping me playing.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Nice theme and style. Could use a little variation however.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

nice game, thanks
well polished

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Fun little game. The one thing I missed was the little creature swinging around when moving.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Fun little game. Good minimalist gameplay and art style.

So the fact that the canyon is collapsing has nothing to do with why the character has decided it might be a good time to get out of the canyon? ;)

Anyhow well done. Good game.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

Nice game. It might be good to add a Score feature. Pretty good.

ignifluous says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00am

Very zen, somehow. Beautiful (minimalistic) use of sound.

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02am

Certainly goes with the theme, very minimalistic, liked the silhouetted style. The sound was a bit disapointing, no music and only a few beeps. Also there was no indicator to how I'd done on my two failed attempts (I had no idea if I was improving at all!)
Very smooth game play though, good feel to it.

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Very stylistic, good look. Fairly easy, made it out on the second try. Some ambient music/sound would have been nice for atmosphere. Could have used anti-aliasing also, but it's a minor complaint.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Runs well, good controls, good balance, good visual style. Could use more gameplay depth or a more interesting primary mechanic. I know you are going for minimal but you still need to keep a player interested. Also music and better sound effects would help.

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Simply amazing game. It might not have been that innovative, but the graphics were awesome! It's the subtle things that transform something from being good to great, and I feel as if this game definitely achieved that. As others have said, maybe add some music, and maybe make the levels last longer and/or add power-ups, and I could definitely see myself buying this on a mobile platform. Definitely the best submission I've played so far. Bravo.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:43am

Dandy game. 'Twould be nice to move your character up and down, but it's not essential. It's an easy concept to expand upon, for sure.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:24am

Very simple yet very fun. I think there sould be some powerup of sorts to spice up gameplay.

Dir3kt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:35am

Nice simple endless balooner :) The character is really cute. Also I liked the fact that the hitbox is the baloon, not the character.

blackmagic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Very simple yes fun, a little bit of scoring/storyline & Music would have made it perfect (post ludum version? )

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Nice game. Liked the smooth controls, a thing that is really on some other entries. Beautiful scenario.

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Short and sweet! I haven't tried impossible mode It doesn't sound fun. The small offset animations on the little character add a lot of charm! It didn't run smoothly for me, it jumped and twitched vertically for some reason - maybe slow redraws: this machine doesn't have a good graphics card.

fishbrain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Brilliant! Simple and fun, but need Score or Timer(?)

bvanschooten says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Looks polished, and the graphics look nice. The gameplay is a little limited though.

Pixelboy_85 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Would be great as an endless/highscore game, or with story and levels. Liked the characters subtle animations. good job.

StMatn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Pretty nice game! I really like the character-animation!

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:12am

Fun game, agreed about the difference between normal and impossible being too great, but the main character is so cute! <3

TheSheep says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:25am

Go Kirby! Go! Thanks for the linux build!

Smaxx says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:05pm

I've updated the Linux build, which should now run properly without spitting out permission errors due to me misspelling "null" and using true fullscreen.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:43am

really cool and i liked the graphics -- nice job

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:51am

nice little simple game you got here, I really like the animation on the guy holding the balloon

May 20, 2013 @ 4:37am

Simple, liked the style in the simple graphics. Felt there might be a better way to raise intrigue or make it feel like you're accomplishing something going higher, like a story or score or something.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]