April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Farmworld

by svenardo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

To play: choose new game. Move around with arrow keys. When you're too tired to move around, press the enter key to rest. Explore everything with the 'E' key. Find the golden potato, and you win.
--
Thanks for the feedback - mindless exploring of empty tiles was a thing I hadn't thought of, and an empty tile should not yield results. A classic bug.

Definitely would like to flesh this out. Combat was meant to be minimalistic, but I guess I made it so minimalistic it got boring ;). More on the development of the game here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/27/a-minimalist-rpg/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#284Humor2.68
#901Graphics2.60
#984Mood2.43
#997Innovation2.48
#1080Theme2.92
#1101Fun2.32
#1161Overall2.52
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

Would have been better with sound.

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

It's ok. Battles are pretty simple and don't require much decision making. It seems kind of mindless hunting each square for a random event, I don't feel very motivated to keep trying. Especially after I found you can get infinite gold by spamming the 'E' key on an empty space :0 then it's just a matter of buying hundreds of health and stamina pots.

stefenism says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

I like this game. It seems like you could have benefitted from more time. Same here.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

nice game

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53am

I got owned pretty hard. In fights and by the level generation. Unless I wasn't getting something...

JokerDen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22am

It have great idea (love explore new worlds). It random generated?

foul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45am

I was stucked in a isle at top left, and there was no golden potatoe there .. The gameplay needs to be revised as i was suffering simply by moving around - figured out that i need stamina when i was at 12hp.. and it seems that I have potions available only in battles. Overall the game have potential.

svenardo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Thank you all. I think I planned for more than I could deliver, so I'm sort of unhappy with the end result in that regards. Things that I think worked was the random map generation and generally exploring. I do like the explore button, but I think I overdid it. Also, the load/save dynamic works very well.
Overall, not a great game at present, but I there are stuff I like and will keep developing.

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

Nice work for 48 hours. Sound is really missing. Also you could make WASD keys to work. Is somewhat hard to use arrow keys + mouse (Here A/D are working but not W/S). I really liked the concept and see ground to build a nice game with more work. Nice job!

May 2, 2013 @ 3:07am

Exploring the world is really fun. Some hints when stamina is low will be better.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:37am

Kinda hard to pay attention in battle, because there's a lot of text to read. Nice simple mechanic. Got spawned on an island once, with no way off: http://imgur.com/nuDlhwY

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Good attempt.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]