April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

White Light

by shaneshanekavanagh - Jam Entry

Push the white into the light.
http://pratai.weebly.com/

Controls:
Use the mouse. Closer to the black hole goes slower. Further makes it go faster.

Features:
5 levels with increasing difficulty
Enemies in levels 3-5 (You want to stay away from them)
Being awesome for seeing the potato

Possible issues:
Mac and Linux versions untested
To exit Windows game press Alt+Esc
Not sure how to exit the Mac or Linux versions
You won't (unless you're super skilled) see the potato

Credits:
Sound: Darren Fitzpatrick
https://soundcloud.com/dajourney

Game Design: Oborux

Art/Game Design/Code: Shane Kavanagh
http://dogwokgames.wordpress.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Audio(Jam)3.62
#88Theme(Jam)3.82
#136Innovation(Jam)3.39
#151Mood(Jam)3.36
#206Graphics(Jam)3.46
#377Overall(Jam)2.86
#419Fun(Jam)2.46
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

This game is really hard, not sure if I'm just terrible at it, I loved how you set the lightning and the music, they really helped set the mood and how you worried about the detail with the trailing effect

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I can't go through the second level...

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Difficult and a bit tedious in the long run. Has potential though.

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Really cool idea, it's quite difficult to grasp but very satisfying. Awesome work for 48 hours!

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Great concept and theme. Very nausea inducing though, seeing the screen zoom in and out, especially with that twitchy UI. I stopped at level 3 with slight dizziness.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Took me a little while to get a handle on the controls, but after that it was pretty cool.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Cheers for the comments peeps. Unfortunately I ran out of time so couldn't lower the difficulty. This is the beauty of this comp, lots of good feedback.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13am

Just Epic I dont know this Guy but his Game is Just Brilliant! Nom Nom Nom :D

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:31am

dam that was hard, great music.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32am

Nice work with the bloom-effects!

attagcatc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43am

Once I worked out the odd controls it was quite good. It was probably too difficult though.

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:32am

Wow this game is awesome! It's mesmerizing and has that eerie vibe to it. I feel like I'm some sort of reaper trying to heard these restless souls into the well of rebirth...or something like that!

I was super confused for a good number of minutes figuring out what I'm controlling and how things are moving...after that the game became more enjoyable. The levels can become ultra difficult if you mess up the trajectory of each white ball, sometimes it's better to just restart.

Great use of audio!

May 4, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Neat idea, though it was very difficult to tell how my control was altering the movements of the objects on screen. Great graphics with the lighting and all, and the audio is very well designed to fit the mood!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]