April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Snake In A Cube

by OU GDA - Jam Entry

Ever wanted to know what was behind the snake in the hit game Snake? Or in front of it? Guess what? It's more Pellets to eat!

Controls:
'wasd' to move the snake
'ijkl' or arrows to rotate

Lighter pellets are in front of the snake darker pellets behind it.

For those that need a bit of spatial reasoning help in the game: http://youtu.be/1NvxVzbPZgk

And try to beat our current best of 91 http://imgur.com/Vp1Juht

**** Spoilers *****
If you need a bit more help, one way to do it:
When you get to a pellet,
if you're moving up/down (shift left/right)
if you're moving left/right (shift up/down),
then watch where that same pellet shifts to and go to it.
You should now collect the pellet.
**** /Spoilers ****

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#42Innovation(Jam)3.86
#91Audio(Jam)3.54
#176Theme(Jam)3.54
#208Overall(Jam)3.31
#261Humor(Jam)2.18
#269Graphics(Jam)3.20
#301Mood(Jam)2.83
#347Fun(Jam)2.71

Comments

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04am

Interesting idea, but I found it very difficult to get anything lined up. Spent a very long time trying to get my first dot.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07am

My brain hurts.

Lots of people have done dimension-switching puzzle games, but you've managed to find a way that I haven't seen before.

It's really, really hard to tell where the snake and cubes are in the 3D space, but I imagine with some practice it get slightly easier.

I like the sounds and music.

Parappa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:09am

Cool twist on a classic. Nice presentation work, feels professional.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:09am

Very innovative gameplay, thoroughly enjoyed it.

berjah says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:13am

great looking game and sounds good too. Controls were responsive and everything work as described. I had some trouble visualizing the cube as I played, and so didn't get much of a score.

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55am

Found it difficult to visualise the 3D space, but rotating the cube a whole bunch was pretty fun :P Very nice presentation, if it was a bit easier to line up to dots I think this would be pretty fun.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:41am

Quite difficult, 17 is as high as I got - but at least the gameover animation is nice :)

Topaz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43am

Took a minute, but I figured out what was going on. Nice mechanics and music!

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:31am

glad to see this turned out well. real polished. kind of frustrating that difficulty comes from hard to understand interface more than anything else. abstaining from rating. good job

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

Cool idea, but I couldn't tell when a dot was one the same level as me. Snaked around a bunch expecting to eat stuff with no luck.

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:50pm

A little bit confusing at the start, but very funny if you get it.

OU GDA says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:10am

Current best is 91 ^__^ http://imgur.com/Vp1Juht

vico87 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Quite hard, but very innovative and well executed.

Sebastian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:11am

This is brilliantly executed and one of my favourites this LD. I love the music, the gameplay and the graphical style. Only managed 13 on my second attempt, but I'll be back later to give it another try (though I don't think I'll be surpassing 91 any time soon!)

domrein says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Neat idea, but it's really hard! Maybe a tutorial or something would help out.

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Really cool idea, but it's difficult to know what pellets are on what... erm.. plane..? I assume they're colour coded in some way, but I couldn't figure it out. Enjoyable though.

jacklehamster says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:19pm

It's quite a novel idea. The problem is that's it's too difficult to imagine the world in 3D, so this turns into normal snake, except most of the time you miss the pellet ;-/
I wonder if it would work if you rotate 45 degrees.

KEFIR says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Cool idea! I took me a while to catch at least one qube :)

Hegemege says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Nice music choice, had fun playing the game :P

I think it got a little bit too fast too soon, and it's really hard to collect the nodes at that speed. Either slow it down or add more of them and I'd be even more fun to play! Great job

Jod says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Cool music, great idea! Sadly my 3d-skills are not quite good enough to easily eat cubes :). Cool idea though.

Beldarak says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Nice take on the theme and nice idea in general ;)

Xanjos says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:16am

A really interesting twist to the classic Snake gameplay although the extra dimension can be confusing at times and takes some getting used to.

May 16, 2013 @ 6:34pm

This is very clever, but I couldn't get my brain to understand where the dots are, circling them forever in 3D space... Still a nice game, great music!! :)

royalpoker88 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38am

a lil confuse,, where the box in 3d is going...
poker game: <a href="http://royalpoker88.com">poker88</a>
guide: <a href="http://poker88.site88.net">poker88.site88.net<a/>
live togel: <a href="http://asiatogel.com">live togel<a/>

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]