April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Visit to the Gallery

by Ismei - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare entry. I learned a lot while making this, and had some fun along the way. It turned out basically how I pictured it, which is an added bonus!

Use up, down, left and right to move. Step on the coloured blocks to alter the picture and reach the grey exit block.

The levels change up how they work every few levels, and there are little interludes.

I made this in Game Maker.

That's it. Hope you like it.

ismei.makesgames@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#483Theme3.61
#890Graphics2.61
#978Innovation2.52
#1103Mood2.25
#1127Overall2.57
#1191Fun2.17
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:16pm

It could be better with real mondrians !

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:49am

Nice game, like the concept! :)

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:52am

I played it through the whole game. It's nice. Not spectacular but quite entertaining. With some sound and more "surprises" it would have been quite a game :)

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:54am

I got stuck in the walls a few times, but that's easily fixable. I'm glad you learned a lot from your first LD and hope to see more from ya' next time! :)

Aceria says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:57am

A solid first entry. Try adding a little audio next time. Good work!

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:11am

The end :-) cool concept. fun to play and a little of story =)

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:15am

Very nice concept! Gets quite repetitive without challenge though.

Ismei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:17am

Thanks for all your comments.
I did try to put in sound on the second day, but none of the tools I had had the sound I was looking for / couldn't seem to record it.
Can anyone recommend any good audio generation tools for next time?

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:22am

I really like the way you put "Composition with Red, Blue and Yellow" into the game. And the story is adorable.

egos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:44am

just frustrating

juaxix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:00am

A story from daily life, alone, with art and passion...well, you need to add some challenges ;)

smealum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:01am

nice idea, if a little simplistic. also, controls are a little buggy and could use a tune up. but mostly, i'm sure you could have taken this idea further !

May 1, 2013 @ 10:18am

Congrats on your 1st LD.

fussycashew says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Very interesting mechanic! It could make for some really fun puzzler games. I also really liked rebuilding the map from one tile. Well done :)

nathanj439 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Cute story and game. Just needs a bit more challenge.

infernet89 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice use of Mondrian, unfortunately it becomes repetitive pretty fast, but is an impressive work for a first one!

Kharza says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:15am

Enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]