April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Plex

by Neonlare - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE4: The Soundtrack is now up for grabs on Bandcamp! Give it a visit sometime, mayhaps ;)

NOTE3: Bug fix galore! If you downloaded a previous version with the bugs still present be sure to download this fixed version. No new content, issues pertaining to level selection and whatnot fixed too. Happy Gaming! :D

NOTE2: Be sure to use the arrows on the title screen to scroll level sets! There's more than just 5 levels! Also, the DOWNLOADABLE version is SUPERIOR to the HTML5 version! The HTML5 has two issues in it, the first being that the music never randomizes, and the second being that folding into a wall freezes your player, meaning you have to restart the room! THIS IS ONLY IN THE HTML5 VERSION! D: Also issue regarding level 3:3 has been resolved :3

NOTE: Due to some weird Syntaxy issue, music was not playing properly. This has been fixed (no new content), but means save files have to wiped to compensate, sorry folks! D:

Navigate your way through over 20 levels to reach the exit in this "PerPlexing" Puzzle game!

---------------------------------------------------

Controls
Use the mouse to select the level and scroll through the sets by clicking on either left or right arrow on the menu screen.
Use the arrow keys to move around
Hold space and use the arrow keys to fold yourself across an axis.
If you get stuck, press R to reset the room.
If you want to leave the level completely, just hit Escape and you'll be sent back to the Title/Level Select Screen.
Navigate to the exit waypoint to complete the level!


---------------------------------------------------

Phew, this has been a bit of an experience! Minimalism was an interesting theme and I feel like it was a really good experience for myself both as a designer and a programmer, knocking out something that (should) be way more polished and bug tested than my previously submitted Ludum Dares! I hope folks enjoy the game and I look forward to reading your comments and suggestions on it :). Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#216Overall3.54
#219Mood3.33
#221Audio3.26
#234Fun3.38
#288Graphics3.45
#325Theme3.77
#691Innovation2.96
#961Humor1.67

Comments

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

Fun game, relaxing aesthetic. :) I enjoy the jumpy spacebar mechanic thing, despite it always getting me stuck in a wall :P

derdragon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

Why do I feel like I'm part of some great tragedy while playing this?

Oh right... the violin.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Very neat puzzle game like the brackets for the player very minimal..

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

I agree, the violin was a bit much. It took me a while to realize how the flip mechanic works, I only used it on Level 5.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Really interesting animations. Depressing music, though.
Upon level completion you could've just skipped straight ahead to the next unlocked level. It'd lead to a smoother experience in my opinion.

I find the spacebar mechanic a cool idea but I don't get it to the full. Also, it freezes me in place if I don't "hit" it correctly - it gives me the beep sound. If only it didn't freeze me in place I could just learn it by testing and brute force with no further instructions, I suppose.

I played a handful of levels. Very good level design on there. It is always tricky to get good levels on a puzzle game after all. Well done.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

That freezing in place is usually a sign that you're folding across an axis which you're standing on.

Basically the room is divided into quarters, and you fold along those quarters. If you fold right/left whilst being 3 tiles away from the centre, you will go to 3 tiles to the other side, i.e from -3 on a grid to 3.

Be sure to check it out some~ The mechanics might be a little strange to get used to but they're easy to understand when you get into the flow :). Thanks for playing! :D

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45pm

i can't hear the violin anymore!! :O

NAMKCOR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

I really like the audio, and the graphics are keen.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

I loved this game. Seriously. Not just being nice.

The mood (as established by the 2 color graphics, simple shapes, pretty music, smooth motions, satisfying swishes and clicks) was superb. It makes this game shine. The puzzles were well designed and appropriately challenging. I've saved a bookmark so I can come back and go through all 20.

Very nicely done.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

All around goodness, enjoyed the graphics, animations and music. Had a nice mood to it.

And that folding mechanic sure made my head spin after a while.

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Wow, this is so cool. I love this game. Some levels are quite complex and are really difficult to complete.

Amazing.

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Reminded me a lot of a game one of my friends made, but then I tried the folding. That's confusing. :P

It'd be nice to have a line or something to show the axis that I would flip across though.

Norgg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Nice game with some good puzzles. I think it explores most of the possible levels for this mechanic short of adding something new. Personally I really liked the violin.

raincole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30am

The gameplay is a little common. But animations are really fantastic!

Neonlare says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:01am

raincole: How far did you get into it? The folding mechanic does add a bit more to the formula :3.

Thanks for all the feedback folks, definitely taking all of this on board for future project :D.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Nice atmosphere, great music and aesthetic. Controls confused me, didn't understand the flip mechanic at first, you should have some explanation of that.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

bugs weren't fixed on web version ? When I try to fold my self to a forbidden tile. I can't move anymore and I have to restart the level :( Anyway, good game and good concept !

miro662 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:57am

very nice game!

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Spiffy game! It seemed pretty polished aesthetically, and the gameplay was simple but fun. I tried the web version and got stuck after folding (I couldn't move once the animation had finished), so hopefully that'll be fixed soon. Nice of you to offer the soundtrack as well, I'm a huge fan of the violin. :)

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:58pm

It's a little annoying having to navigate through the menu after every level, but that's my only complaint. Interesting puzzles, the way the squares change colour and shape as the level opens is really cool. Good stuff!

Toki Anholmes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:13am

I enjoyed the art and the main mechanics, remind me ice caverns of Pokemon games :) well done

TheSarcastic says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:30am

Really good, but it has room from improvement. Be consistent about your controls, why do I HAVE to use the mouse on the menu but during the game only the keyboard? And why go back to the main menu after every level? Give options NEXT - MENU :)

Really liked it! Hope you keep at it.

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:45am

Oh boy, years of Pokemon and Zelda puzzles, all coming back to me! Really well done, nice puzzles!

Jod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Very cool, great music! The folding mechanic too me a while to discover and I'm afraid I don't get it. Nonetheless, awesomely polished game! Very cool.

Qaterknan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Classic game reworked in nice graphics. The flipping makes it really unique. Nice.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Nice puzzles and visual. Don't know if the audio sets the right mood for the game but love it anyway. Good entry!

ceMelusine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Great atmosphere. Really liked the art, though maybe you could export it a bit higher res to prevent some of that artifacting

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Nice animations, I unfortunately couldn't hear the sound.
Also the level 5 froze twice, and I had to restart. But good job overall!

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Your menus take too long to transition! They're frustrating.

hypp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Fun game! Nicely done!

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:56am

Loved the music to this game! It really set the atmosphere and pacing for it. The levels you designed were smart, and I liked the whole premise of it. It was fun! I just wish WASD controls worked as well, and levels automatically moved forward upon success.

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Good puzzle game.
I had a bug at the 5th level when I used the space technic. It freezes the game!

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:55am

I never figured out how folding works. IT seems to move me differently depending on where I am, and it can move through walls, I guess. Since it's necessary only for level 5 that'

Sebastian says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:55pm

The folding mechanic is very cool and I found your puzzles to be well designed.
Stop taking me back to the menu though!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:51am

really great

alts says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Well done. I jumped into the game immediately (HTML5 version) without reading your description, and was baffled by the "folding" mechanic, since all it seemed to do was freeze the player. Once I was forced to use it in the fifth puzzle, it all came together, and made the standard sliding puzzles far more interesting. Do wish completing a level took me to the next one rather than the first page of the menu screen.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]