April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Simple Shape Adventures

by Stryphe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple Shape Adventures is a combination of five game styles all using the same basic graphic blocks.

I tested in in Chrome on Windows.

Since I used some WebGL functions so if your web browser doesn't support webGL(IE10) the game will be pretty boring for you (everything will be white).

Tools used:

Construct2
Gimp2.0
http://www.bfxr.net/

Thank you for stopping by.


Can you find the potato?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#552Theme3.54
#807Fun2.71
#864Audio2.17
#873Overall2.88
#926Mood2.50
#1248Innovation2.00
#1250Graphics2.04
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

follows the theme well! had fun playing through it, got hard at some points

GameNacho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29am

Lots of different mini-games, I like it :)

Elrobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40am

Got stuck for me on the shoot the red targets stage. Clicking them made a sound but nothing happened (I'm on Chrome 26 on windows if it matters). Up to then was a nice collection of games though.

Andy West says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06am

Good variety and interpretation of the theme. Nice!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

Neat little quadrathalon of minimized arcade games.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24am

I had a lot of trouble with the controls; they lagged quite a bit, especially on the pac-man levels, but also on the platforming.

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:45pm

I only get a white stage using Chrome on windows XP.

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I was expecting something worse when I saw the screenshots, but then seeing that it was a lot of classic mini-games, reimagined in a minimalistic way, it changed my mind. Actually rated it pretty good.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:50pm

not easyy))

May 1, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Cool! Minimalism for sure.

Kinda felt like the pac-man clone didn't fit as well as the others. It took way longer to finish a pac-man level compared to any of the other mini-games.

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Cool minigame idea.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Great concept. Entertaining although I am not fond of the overly minimalistic bips ;) But nice fit.

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:20pm

simple and parodic. Very fun.

Per says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Simple and fun!
Impressive number of gameplay modes in a 48 hour game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]