April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Music with the sky

by pinion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second ludum dare entry. It didn't really turn out the way I wanted but these things happen.

You play music using the QWERTYUI keys and have to play back the music the sky plays to you. Apologies in advance to AZERTY keyboard users, colour-blind and tone-deaf people.

Tools: Flixel (+ power tools), musagi, paint.net, flash develop.

E-mail: pinion.makesgames@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#739Audio2.40
#1063Theme2.95
#1177Innovation2.16
#1238Fun2.00
#1247Graphics2.05
#1268Overall2.29
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

I think on the one hand it'd be better if the actual keys on the keyboard played the actual notes rather than QWERTYUI, but I guess it'd be difficult to do high C, and would essentially make it a typing tutor.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23pm

A nice little game :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Nice game, very minimal as well ! :)

drstik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25pm

I agree with Casino Jack that it needs to be easier to tell which key to press without memorizing them.

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26pm

sound fun to play despite the difficulty to find the good key.

Nancybeast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26pm

A nice small game. Would be more interesting if you could play using mouse and if you could play actual snippets from classical piano pieces.

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Not optimized for QWERTZ keyboards... Cool little game though! :)

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:31pm

All those years of inputting notes into trackers with a QWERTY keyboard have finally paid off! Cool game!

ChuiGum says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:03am

Very minimal!

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:17am

I like the concept. There needs to be a break between the last note of the previous phrase and the first note of the next one. Like "press any key for the next phrase". I was having issues tracking which note was which key too, but I'm not sure I like the suggestion to map them to their letters.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:40am

Congrats on your 2nd LD entry. I seem to lack the musical aptitude to perform well in this...

May 6, 2013 @ 7:42am

Nice idea, but as you said using an Azerty layout did not make it any easier. :) After a while you got used to the keys though. The Enter key still worked after the end of the game, took me a moment to realize nothing would really be happening anymore.

May 9, 2013 @ 10:36am

Nice idea!

But saying "Play this note!" is horrible. So unless you already have extensive knowledge of how to translate a letter into music using an unknown interface you have never heard of, this can be very frustrating.

jamesca says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:47am

Nice concept, I like it! A couple of niggles: the timing on the game seems to be interrupted by things like backups starting off in the background, it would be nice to see the key's to notes on a piano keyboard or something, and its not clear when its expecting input/playing stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]