April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Euler, Inc.

by glisk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle/building/arcade game about polygons and an ambiguous chemical company hired by Government!

Move around your square with WASD and rotate with Q and E, grab other polygons and place them in the correct order in the keyhole.

Story mode: complete 8 levels and complete your task: the Isotope 132 is your!
Endless mode: polygons, again and again and again and again (with score).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#224Innovation3.57
#428Humor2.42
#646Theme3.45
#788Mood2.65
#832Audio2.22
#888Overall2.86
#906Graphics2.59
#997Fun2.48

Comments

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:02am

This is very fun! However, I had a lot of trouble registering my answers. Unless I am missing something, I'm pretty sure I had the polys right and I just couldn't get them exactly on the spot....

Very neat concept and cool universe.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

I liked the intent of this game, but I gave up due to the timer combined with the game not recognizing, what I assume to be, a correct solution.

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

A nice idea.

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43am

Hi and thanks for your feedback! I know the matching (and the timer) is a little fussy but I tought it was a good compromise, according to my tests and the ones take by my friends who tried it :(
The timer for each level is 26 secs * level/phase, and I decided to use this setting after a lot of playing but maybe it's still a little too small especially for those who are playing the game for the first time. I mean, I can currently complete the levels but it's surely because I played it a lot while developing :P

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Nice game. The different colors and shapes make this game stand out. The only thing that annoys me is how the shapes have to be pretty much pixel perfect.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I liked the idea of this game, but either the controls are too finicky to construct your amalgamation perfectly, or the goal is too strict to handle the controls. Most of a level is spend slightly trying to adjust things by a few pixels, which then gets thrown off because the rotator isn't entirely conservative.

henrykun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Really cool idea. I didn't understand it at the beginning but once I did it got me. Mechanics are vey good but I would give like a bigger area for the player to make the figure fits into. Nice :)

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I liked the idea of this game, but either the controls are too finicky to construct your amalgamation perfectly, or the goal is too strict to handle the controls. Most of a level is spend slightly trying to adjust things by a few pixels, which then gets thrown off because the rotator isn't entirely conservative.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

The gameplay video is much appreciated as I got lost while playing. Maybe having the controls on the browser game page would help a little. Nice concept, cute scientist.

Phase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:51am

I found it easy enough to get the shapes at the right orientation, but there isn't a good way to know what direction they will go when you release them... too finicky of controls, but a good concept

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:58am

Interesting!
This is a nice idea.

Oye Beto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:12am

The idea is original but I think the execution needs some tweaking. Getting the exact rotation is kind of tedious. What if it rotated by a fixed angle?

glisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:15am

@Oye Beto: I think your observation is correct, that could be a good way to make it easier. Thanks for the advice :D

glisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:32am

I modified the game with a fixed angle and honestly is WAY BETTER, thank you Oye Beto.

However, in order not to break the rules of the 48h compo I WILL NOT submit these changes to the game until the compo ends ;)

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Nice. It was unfortunately frustrating to align all of the pieces just-so-perfectly. Good game anyway.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:03pm

That's a really neat idea, but just waaaaaay to difficult for me. A little bit more flex in what the game considers "good enough" would have really helped. It would also be handy if the polygons didn't move when you dropped them, though I can see why that is difficult.

angelk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:56pm

I really like the presentation. The noisy background of the title page and the story text and simple colors was really appealing. The gameplay was fun and quite challenging. The only other thing that would be nice for the LD entry would be some simple background humming or sound to give a little depth to the world.

May 6, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Ai, that is hard! Nice idea though, I would like to play the updated version with fixed angle of rotation. :)

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Neat concept! I, like many others, am having a hard time progressing very far due to the difficulty, but I really like what you have here.

Benjamin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:46pm

I was stuck on the third level because I had no triangle left. All of the spawned triangle was above other shapes and space was no use to correct this problem. The game was fun to play but it was very slow . I dont know if it was the normal speed or if my weak netbook CPU was the problem.

numpad says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Great! This is really fun and

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]