April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

KEY

by Mousseto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about minimising your movement.
Use keyboard arrows to move, left mouse button to shoot.
Have a good time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Graphics3.89
#584Overall3.14
#590Theme3.50
#651Mood2.78
#835Fun2.68
#864Audio2.17
#1093Innovation2.29
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43am

Very nice graphics and gameplay but could use a tutorial. Well done. :)

LeafThief says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:47am

The game has a great color palette and I like the neon-look of it. Also i kept wondering about the dot inside the player-character.
It becomes pretty hard to stay alive. Early after the first enemies show up I can't handle them anymore, making it hard to play for a longer period of time.
Still, good job!

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Great design, it works rather well! Loved the game over screen :)

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

<3

ananasblau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10am

The left handed will cheer but WASD as an alternative method to move would be nice.

And it's great to finally see a hexels inspired game. I had expected more of those.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22am

Style's cool, but gameplay feels a bit broken. Does the game have an end? Does it get harder? Why do bad guys only spawn when I move? Do I win the game by sitting still and doing nothing, so no baddies spawn? Without a score or a progress bar to motivate the player, it all seems a little pointless. I get the sense that I could move a tiny bit, let some guys spawn, spin around shooting in all directions to kill them - wash, rinse and repeat until the end of time, without it ever getting to critical mass.

The graphic design side of things is awesome, and the core elements of gameplay are there - they just need some reworking to make the game feel like it has a goal (and ideally, to give the player tighter control of movement)!

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33am

love the art chatte-chan ! you did very well

Mousseto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Hadyn you are completely right. The fact is that you have to move very little to fight enough enemy to win. Indeed it miss something to make the game really interesting, but I didn't found it. I have a lot to learn, thank you very much for your comment.

As for the WASD method to move, I did not want to use it at first because of the azerty/qwerty keyboard problem... After having thinking of it, I could have use it, sorry about that.

Geoege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Maouuuuw !

Misael.K says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:00am

This is begging for some fast chiptune music! :)
The idea is very cool, but I think the execution could do some work. There is no real motivation for me to move my little square, I mostly agree with Hadyn.

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:00am

a bit too minimal imo. Like some health info or explosions when you kill the enemy would be nice. If you want to keep working on it :)

BrothersT says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:06am

Hmm, kinda wished there was a score or something. Don't really see the challenge, as long as you don't move much you can keep going forever. Death is a bit sudden too. Just had to hit 1 guy once. Nice graphics.

simvig says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Quite fun, but I would like some indication of progress.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]