April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Approximately pi over two

by Cryovat - Jam Entry

Prototype for a "single button" puzzle game. Don't expect too much.

Controls:
"z" - EVERYTHING!

Credits:
Sweat and hard work: Cryovat
Game engine: ImpactJS
Tools: IntelliJ, Photoshop, Expression Design

Notes:
Due to time constraints, an engine I'd never used before, ineptitude, and a general lack of ideas, it turned out short and unspectacular. It also needs sound effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Theme(Jam)3.97
#143Innovation(Jam)3.37
#293Graphics(Jam)3.10
#372Mood(Jam)2.64
#418Overall(Jam)2.77
#466Fun(Jam)2.30
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

visibleatom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

I don't know if this is on purpose, but as SOON as I hit the 'squiggle' level, the entire tab CLOSED on me (the Chrome tab running the game). That's a very drastic way to say 'game over'.

Cryovat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

Thanks for the heads up. It was an experiment that was accidentally left in the code. I've removed the offending line from the script file. Sorry about that. D:

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:57am

Nice art, nice idea. I would have put some tricky level with the timer. However, I understand your choice to not do that, it wouldn't be good accordingly to your theme interpretation :)

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Cute idea, has a lot of potential.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Wow there are actually lots of interesting elements and possible combinations on there.
Indeed it has got potential to make up a puzzle game

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07pm

At first this seemed incredibly boring, then the timers made it surprisingly promising, and the end freaked me out in a good way. I like the partially visible walls.

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I like the effects , the timers, the path variations, the cute bot like looking sphere :)

Done rating. :D
Please do checkout my game too
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=rate&uid=21211

plash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Notes:

- Mathy. Okay, this could work.
- No sound. Need sound!
- Hmm. I'm just pressing Z repeatedly.
- You just die at the end?

Things I would change:

- The player graphic. It does not fit with the rest of the theme.
- Well, the core mechanic. The way it is now, you're just following a set path. It's almost nearly spamming Z.
- Actually use traits of math in mechanic? Not sure exactly how, but there's a thought.

Cryovat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Thank you all for the feedback! :)

@Ty/PF/TH: Thanks for giving it a go and the kind words! :)

@DP: That's the effect i was going for, glad to hear it worked! :) Unfortunately, as it is now, it's a game that literally ends after the tutorial levels.

@plash: These will be addressed, thanks! The reason you die is that I ran out of time and needed some way to end it. I'm hoping I'll find a way to incorporate those elements into a bigger setting though.

tankete says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Like the graphical style, but wish I could die. The end was a bit scary! :)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:58pm

If you made more of this it would be really good. It could get complicated so unbelievably quickly. And there is clearly room for more mechanics. And then making it all arty crazy helps to differentiate it.

I didn't understand the title until I asked my brother about it. Math is not my strong suit.

patrickward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:28am

At first I thought it wasn't much of a game, but when I hit the timers I could see the potential. I think you should continue to develop this further. It has great potential to be a fun, casual, puzzler game. If you add touch events via ImpactJS you could make it playable on mobile devices too (especially with the one button action). Nice job.

Qaterknan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Everyone already said this but this game has potential. Timers and other timed events could make this game to something more than just pressing Z. But now it does fit theme very well :D

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:09pm

The timer really kept my on my toes!

cardboard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Cool mechanic(s) and nice use of only one button. After the timers appeared I was hoping the game would start to get more puzzly, but then I got eaten out of nowhere. This could be really cool if/when you finish it up.

john_conder9 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Well I don't think anything in this game really counts as gameplay, or maybe it does? Well, it was minimal game play, so I suppose there's that :D I think with some moving platforms this would have been a lot more interesting, since then you could have had puzzles. So, I feel like it's really close to being a game. Maybe with post-LD polish and work and you'd have something great here :D

Kharza says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Eek!

OnlySlightly says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:53am

loved the idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]