April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Brutaliz'Art LD26

by lotusgame - Jam Entry

This is a competition inside the LD26 competition !

Are you ready to test, brutalize and paint the other LD26 games minimalism ?

Are you ready to become the artist of this upcoming influence ?


FOCUS
We tried very hard to not do simple, but try to integrate a minimalism idea from the painters, arts,...


THE TEAM
Flash developper : Francois Provansal, from Lotusgame
PHP developper : GUNNING Sky, from SkyWEB
Designer : Phlox
Beta tester : Yukister (Many thanks to him !)


WHAT WE USED
Flash (AS3), Box2d
PHP, Apache, HTML5, Jquery, MySQL
Photoshop, Premiere, Audacity
All Ludumdare 26 games primary screenshot


COPYRIGHT
We have linked to every game page of LD26 and kept the author name and game name on each level for this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Humor(Jam)4.24
#13Innovation(Jam)4.08
#57Fun(Jam)3.59
#121Theme(Jam)3.70
#122Overall(Jam)3.55
#149Mood(Jam)3.37
#233Audio(Jam)3.03
#370Graphics(Jam)2.85

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Hilarious. Awesome use of technology.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Best.

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

AHAHAHA this was amazing. My new favourite. Loved the sound as well.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

So deep.

raoz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Heh, real fun!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Excellent job most hilarious... Lv 11 and 2x potato powerups!

multitude says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

COOL - i actually played this for quite some time. old school fun of the finest kind. the video set the mood and humor perfectly.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27am

Funny idea :D

PixelMonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06am

Haha, this is wonderful!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06am

Hahahah fantastic concept!

CheesyRamen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09am

By far the most funniest game I've played so far in this jam! :)

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:51am

You. Are. A. Genius.

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:05am

I laughed out loud. Fun concept. Nice build up with the video.

WiseGAMER says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

The humor is too damn high!!!

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10pm

GENIUS. (Although I did have to smash a game I liked :|)

Per says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Nice!
Good work with the glass breaking. Fun idea :)

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Ma lè concept il è jouste genialissimo.
And what an introduction.
Really original and well executed.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Sweet!

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:36pm

soo totally meta! XD

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Great idea. Hulk like smash Ludums :)

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:52am

This was hilarious - needed a proofreading pass for the in-game text ("break," not "brake"!), but "minimalizing" other people's games with a hammer was strangely fun.

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:08am

Thank you everybody for your comments. We are very proud to make you laugh so much :)
@Ryusui Thank you for noticing this mistake. We made the correction, as everyone has the right to change typos ;)

MauMaGau says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Great stuff, very innovative =D

stefan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:35pm

This is a nice idea, its cool that you include real "data". Very funny :)

May 1, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Nice game! Is it possible to select your own game to break? Currently the game selected to break seems to be random?

Adipson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Very fun and excellent humor ! i like ... hey... i hope you did 'nt brutalize my game ! lol

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Amazing game to play after a lot of time rating games! I should finish every judging day playing this :D

omaromeir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Hilarious entry, destroying other people's game to minimalize them? brilliant!

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:45am

@oskardevelopment : You can't break your own game. They are selected by random except yours. As omaromeir has summed up well, the purpose is to destroy other people's game to minimalize them :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:47am

Very fun !

Misfit says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Sound effects are great. Hehee.. unique idea.

sparkleswirl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Absolutely hilarious, unexpected and wonderful.

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Hilarious! Can one minimalize our own game? or is that a minimal spoiler?

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Funny game :)

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:56am

Really funny! I enjoying hammering others' creations :)

brookman32k says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Very funny entry...

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Excellent!

marnaouf says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Very fun and hilarious game and concept.

muton says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Smashing!

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Really great! Thumbs up!

Lafolie says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Amazing, laughed so much whilst playing this. My only gripe is the garish colours.

Also, damn, that leaderboard is tough to get on.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Great idea and extremely fun to play!

TheBenjaneer says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Hilarious! XD

docix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:45am

HAHAHA! I am truly moved.

Stryphe says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:35am

Well Done!

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:18am

Genious!

Gungnir says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:30am

Clever idea - and helps others get more exposure (prior to being smashed).

Ithildin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:29am

The intro video was brilliant, so hilarious... XDDD

I loved the game as well, a really clever use of the theme :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Lol, this is one of the funniest entries I've seen. And with an intro video, even! Awesome job!

littleball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:57pm

This was great, and I love that fact that you've displayed other games in the competition!

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Strangely satisfying. I had fun

Xgor says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Awesome. Wish it was a feature though so I could smash my own game just because it would be funny.

Boiúna says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Amazing! Really funny and unexpected use of the theme.

May 4, 2013 @ 8:01pm

LOL

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:18pm

This is the funnyest entry on this LD! :) Nice!

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:56pm

What an original idea. I like the potato sound :D

Teejay5 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:43pm

nice concept!

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:54pm

ironic and innovative. Me gusta!

May 5, 2013 @ 1:08am

smasheriffic!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:29am

This game really lets the player let out some pent-up aggression.

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:10am

Hilarious. Many props for such a creative interpretation of the theme!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:30am

Ahahah so much fun. Love the weird french accent of the guy in the video.

amodo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:31am

i don't exist :(

lotusgame says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:53am

@amodo : Your first image presentation is so tiny that our parser didn't get you ^^ You can use the name 'lotusgame' if you want to test our game ;)

Catman says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:56am

Really nice, had fun with this :D

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Wow, this was awesome. The +1000 sound was great! Genious concept. Keep it going! Score: $ 54690.

thatwhichis says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Super-fun!

wine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:02am

Yeah! Into smithereens!
Best idea

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:03am

You seem to really understand minimalism, great work!

May 6, 2013 @ 11:52am

I loved what you guys did XD and its helluva marketing

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:48pm

I Lol'd

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Bullshittingly good!

ovenchips says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Excellent illustration of playing to the strengths of the web. Very original and inspirational. Well done!

cwilloughby says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Very cool. Love that it pulls in everything else.

manax says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:01am

Very cool concept. Well done. Cool that you even have a leaderboard. :)

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:12am

Really clever and funny game! I love the idea of it, smashing other LD'ers games. The powerups kept it interesting, and it was fun to be able to smash all the games. I wish the difficulty was bumped up a notch. It was fun for a while, but it was far from difficult until I played for a really really long time.

TenTonToon says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:18am

Amazing overall concept, even if there's not a lot of gameplay there. The introductory video is hilarious, and the game is quite fitting of the theme. It's awesome how destruction can bring a certain sense of community! :)

Also, the tech is put to surprisingly good use, and a destruction click feast... that never gets old!

Best score: 85890$ "Save the Bunnies" turned out to be unminimalisable ;)

Congratulations! :D

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:41am

Clever stuff! Cool video before the game and enjoyed a couple of rounds. Kind of wanted it to get to my game so I could smash that up too!
Does it ever find your game on the site? Does it turn into the infinite smash lotusgame project? :D

Harsay says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:23am

Funny

smotko says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:47pm

A fun idea and the physics is well done as well. It gets a bit repetative, though, but I liked it overall! Well done.

mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Love the use of other games' screen shots. And the sound effect for the Strip Potato was priceless.

MrShoestore says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:19am

super dig it!

pereubu says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:07pm

just ... hilarious, that wa

pereubu says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:08pm

just ... hilarious, that was an awesome idea D:

PaulSB says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:49pm

What a brilliant concept. Haha. Just completely different, so massive respect for that. Innovation all day long right here.

May 9, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Haha! Good idea! ^^

May 9, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Wow. So clever!

Codexus says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Haha, original and funny!

aquilicoco says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Good idea

klianc09 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:42pm

really awesome, I somehow even got on the leaderboards :D

BradleySmith says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Really awesome game, excellent work.

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I'm going to die playing this game. :D

FREEZX says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Pretty innovative and fun!

stevejohnson says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:34pm

I felt deliciously superior to my fellow contestants. Funny, unexpected, well done.

Norritt42 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Ha hahahahha :) Made my day:)

imagnity says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Damn hell!!! It's pretty cool. Lvl 12. :)

pjchardt says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:06am

Fantastic!

ivo says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:05am

love this kind of meta-game thingy, really funny.

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Haha, that was great.

Mase says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Had fun playing this with a drawing tablet for input.

lotusgame says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:20pm

@Mase : Use a drawing tablet is an excellent idea for this game ! Smart :) Sure you can reach the top of ranking ^^

Taro Omiya says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:41am

Definitely fun while it lasted.

HD408 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:05am

Brilliant. And nice sounds too.

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Very interesting and fun game. How did you test it, I wonder?
There is a bug: sometimes the breaking sound stops, powerups stop appearing, if you have an upgraded hammer, it doesn`t change back to normal visually, but acts like normal.
Also, at the game over screen, it sometimes loses a letter of the author`s name. Intended?

May 11, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Awesome game! Incredibly fun, crazy concept, really innovative! Congratulations!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:17pm

MINIMALIZED, BITCH !

lotusgame says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Madball says : We tested the game on all LD25 games. Same HTML structure for the robot that scanned LD website.
Thanks for bug reports. I think the author name bug is due to non utf8 chars...
Thanks for your nice comments !

May 12, 2013 @ 4:38am

This is such a brilliant idea! Simply amazing.xD

PAMVllo says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:13pm

IS SO AMAZING!!! O_O

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Smashing glass rectangles of a Ludum Dare 26 game to create pixels tickled me. If you continue to develop this, clicking the rectangles got a little repetitive.

Brassawiking says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Cool, the leaderboard should have been on the frontpage =)

brantkings says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Nailed the theme so hard it hurt.

MathiO says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Well that was different! Haha, hilarious sound effects... Hm, just read the comment about the tablet... I have a touchscreen laptop, I think it's clear what must be done

sharbelfs says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:00am

Oh f#ck that's addictive!!!

Saturnyn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:30am

Hahaha great work ^^

kibertoad says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Now that was... inventive.

May 14, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I love the concept!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Good idea and pretty fun (and it make advertisment for the other game)

loxo says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:05pm

I like your game very much. It's fun to play and the inclusion of all the LD26 games is a interesting concept. With a trackpad it's really hard, though.

CrazyGage says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Nice. What a fun way to manipulate the games. :)

Sebastian says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Haha this is brilliant, what a great idea!
Too bad I don't exist...

Xanjos says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:47pm

That was rather amusing. Still, it was pretty fun.

ahm99 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Interesting game, Good job :)

SuperDisk says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Really funny. Mostly consisted of just randomly smashing mousebutton though.

basspenguin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:00am

LOLZ!!!

frogmaster says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:52pm

I want to break freeee :D

Zim the Fox says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:30am

I love you. I just love you.

I saved myself 77k and minimalised my competition.

Super Hamster says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:35am

Very interesting game idea, I just thought it was not challenging enough(maybe because I did not play long enough but I played long enough in my opinion that it should be hard). I am very surprised that you were able to make this though, as it looks very complicated to make.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:57am

Very interesting, really liked the glass breaking effects. Had fun smashing things, as always! :P

lotusgame says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:20am

Super hamster : just simple things / concepts that we put together and different skill sets, nothing complicated enough we could not do it in 3 days. To tell you the truth, the dev whas only about 1 day and a half :-)

Infin8 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:17am

Awesome meta stuff!

May 19, 2013 @ 11:18am

Ha, this was brilliant concept. Great intro as well!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Hahahaha, awesome use of real-world graphics! I liked it :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]