April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalismizer

by Diamonde - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a cloud of light and hold the power to make your foes(the whirlwinds) minimalistic! Also you grab the magic raindrops that lies above the other clouds and they give you score.

Worked in Unity3d 4 pro trail.
Graphics mostly done in Procreate with iPad.
Sound done with mic and free tools on the internet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#117Graphics3.87
#501Mood2.95
#529Humor2.25
#644Overall3.09
#683Audio2.49
#797Fun2.72
#1103Innovation2.27
#1287Theme2.43

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Pleasant graphical style. Nice ambient sound.

lody says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I really like the stylized graphics. Very nice!

dstozek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

The graphics are gorgeous, but what about the theme?

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Hitboxes seem a bit off - like, I die to whirlwinds when I don't feel like I even touched them. The fact that you have to restart from the beginning adds to the frustration this creates. Would be nice if you had more than one life.

Colissions in general seem a bit buggy. You can get blocked from jumping while pressing against a seemingly vertical wall - here's the area I'm talking about: http://i.imgur.com/2FdepSQ.png. I also fell through a moving platform once. Another thing is that shooting doesn't always work when you're mid-air.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Like the handrawn style and the shooting mechanic :) However I was expecting a better ending for such an atmospheric game.

Diamonde says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Thanks for the comments so far and I'm super happy that you seem to like the graphics!
I must say though, I had quite some trouble getting into Unity's way of handling collisions, and I know it to be very frustrating when the game glitches more often than not. :(

As for the theme I realize it might not be too obvious, but the shooting results in enemies becoming minimalistic; they're transformed into boxes! :)

bytegrove says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Cool game with a neat style and feeling to it! The block mechanic felt well utilized and well combined with the platforming. The graphical style is great, the clouds felt really fluffy! :D However, I felt that the light source on the player, which felt cool at first, became a little annoying to look at after a while. I had some trouble with the collision as well, falling through the floor on several occasions. Also you might want to shorten the foot step sound. Anyway, cool idea and neatly implemented, the tutorial creatures are adorable. :)

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Sweet, 8300. I really enjoyed this. I found a bit of a glitch, though - If you walk off the edge of a vertically-moving platform, you carry on moving as if you were on it, so you can basically walk through the air.

mipi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:21am

Loved the graphics!

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Quite nice but I felt like your graphics were missing the point on minimalism.

CogComp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:23pm

As Zed mentioned, there's a couple of "air walking" bugs, but really neat graphics style!

stromchin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I loved the wind, and the graphics!

hissssssssss says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:41pm

The movement and jumping felt a bit mechanical, but the whimsical graphics were cute.

nSun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:42pm

I think the glitch comes when there is 2 collisions ( x axis + down) : when the x-axis condition is taken, the program forget down-condition, and you go through the floor.

The art design (graphics and sound) are realy fine, but the level-design is not realy interesting...

Maybe you spent too much time for graphics. Personaly I think level-design is more important than graphic (gameplay prime on graphics). I made this mistake on my first LD, finaly I had good graphics, but not a game...

Boiúna says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:46pm

I liked the graphics. =D

Moist says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:50pm

I'm mesmerised by the art style. Good job on that!

DST says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:52am

Very plesant game :)

lanz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:56am

Nice graphics and sounds. Really enjoyed playing this one! Great job.

Tapestry says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:13am

The graphics were really nice.

Tainted_Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Awesome little game!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I like the background and the clouds, but the main character could look a bit more cloud-like. Nice sounds too.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:29am

it was cool -- windy -- nice tornadoes -- good effort

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]