April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Game of Boxes

by DarkX2 - Jam Entry

A Game of Boxes was made in Java. Therefore it should work on all platforms, but we only tested for Windows.

It is minimalistic a Jump & Run game.

You control it with the arrow keys or WASD. Each of the different box colors does have something special. Find out for yourself.

The game wasd inspired by a picture we found at iFullscreen.com after googling "Minimalism". This game is a homage to this specific picture. The original artist is unknown to us.

We hope you enjoy this game.


Jan Gretschuskin & Rene Rossdeutscher

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#194Theme(Jam)3.50
#245Graphics(Jam)3.31
#356Fun(Jam)2.69
#377Mood(Jam)2.62
#402Innovation(Jam)2.53
#414Overall(Jam)2.78
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

On the level where I suppose to climb I'm not sure how to climb. Are you suppose to press 'Up' while on a wall?

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26am

It was a bit hard to learn how to wall jump, and in fact i don't really know how i did it. I finished it, it was nice :)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

This was a pretty nice idea, but the controls were a bit too "loose", I guess. Jumping had a pretty noticeable delay for me... Otherwise, good job!

Nisshoku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

Great because of its simplism! I liked how the title and credits screen were also levels, somehow seemed to fit this. I thought it was kinda mean not to explain the red box until after you found out by yourself. :p

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:57am

The controls are nasty!

... but the idea is good, and the design is quite nice =]

Atridas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04pm

I gess I'll go with "hard" game. Fun overall, GJ.

raoz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Interesting™

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Nah, not hard.
I think potentially it could be fun, its like minimalistic portal game :)

Exergy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Very good looking game! Fun, want more! ;)

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:39am

What a box-riffic game this was. I enjoyed it a lot! :)

Jeremias says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Nice concept, but way too short. More levels and box types would be awesome. The controls don't feel that smooth. The graphics are nicely done - enjoyable aesthetics.

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:47am

Good idea, but the controls were really tough to both learn and master. Would recommend some sound.

May 3, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Fun game idea, would be nice to see more. Controls felt a bit weird. Cool way to show the credits.

DarkX2 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Thank you for all the encouraging comments. We will try to improve the controls, add some levels and maybe sound for an extended edition.

Tom 7 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I liked the graphical style. The controls felt a little stiff (integer-only physics?) especially on the wall-jump level, but I did beat it! :)

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:22pm

That art style is so beautiful! Unfortunately Java seriously messes up my system, so I can only stare at the screenshot and not play :(

May 3, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Very nice graphics.

JayPC000 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:09am

The Jumping and motion are hard to control As you only allow one key press at a time. The biggest complaint is that I can't walk and Jump at the same time.

Otherwise this game Looks like that picture that you find under Minimalism on Google images, My game is more loosely Based on the same image and is also a Platformer

DaveDobson says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:56am

Very neat entry. Simple, cool physics leads to complex (but not very hard) levels. I think you could develop this into a more complex game with some really clever level designs, even with the few types of squares you've got now. I like the grungy Modern-art look.

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Takes a while to get into a rhythm with the controls. I was on the wall jump screen before it 'clicked'. Neat game.

Herku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:29pm

The game looks very nice but the controls don't feel very smooth. Nevertheless I wished there were more levels. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]