April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Freeze

by Lycaon - Jam Entry

This is a game about being lost in the woods. Collect sticks to build a fire, and collect berries to not starve to death.

Move with WASD, make a fire by pressing E when you've collected four piles of sticks. Refuel fires by pressing E when near them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#222Theme(Jam)3.41
#228Mood(Jam)3.09
#233Audio(Jam)3.03
#385Humor(Jam)1.67
#425Innovation(Jam)2.44
#439Fun(Jam)2.39
#464Overall(Jam)2.61
#500Graphics(Jam)2.28

Comments

NalozycShade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32am

I clicked the link and it gave me an error message. you might want to check that out your idea looks cool though.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

cool idea, but a small walking animation would be really great

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Couldn't figure out how to make a fire.

Audio really sold the feel of a place.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Loved how you set up the graphics within the minimalist theme, the game itself lacks a lot to get into the fun mode

Nacho says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

I made it "not fun" on purpose, I mean, getting stuck in a blizzard isn't really fun. I basically just asked myself "What is the absolute minimum a survival game needs?" and then made a game based on that.

I was pretty happy with how the graphics came out, except the fire sprite. I wanted to make everything monochrome so that the bright fire would stand out.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

What this needs is some indication that you can eventually get out of the woods. Then the survival would not feel like postponing your inevitable death. which you would be anyway, but that's besides the point.

great use of audio and sparse graphics. good mechanic if given more context.

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Who needs Don't Starve ;) -- I love games like this

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Snap! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=default

Obviously, to certain people "minimalism" means "it is cold".

I liked the sound a lot, the visuals could have done with a little bit of animation. At first I couldn't move for potatoes, then once I managed to harness the powers of fire (after dying once) I could find nothing but sticks for moles. I don't know if this was on purpose, but it felt apt.

Is there an end point? Third time through I managed to keep going for ages, even getting to a point where there didn't seem to be any more trees, but it seems like the only way to finish it is to die.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Sticks for miles, even. There weren't any moles, although I might just have missed them.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41pm

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=5901

Sigh, not doing well today. That was the link it was /meant/ to put above. Where's an edit button when you need one?

Nacho says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Haha, there isn't actually a win state, it's mostly a score-attack kind of game. I considered putting one in, but I couldn't figure out a way to include it without it feeling contrived. I was heavily inspired by Jack London's short story "To Build a Fire" when making this game.

The sticks, trees, and food are all completely random, although it's weighted towards trees (sticks and bushes have a 1/10 chance of appearing each, trees have an 8/10 chance). I've had times when I found more sticks than I could ever need, and times when I couldn't find any for miles.

The forest generates in a 500 meter wide circle with 8000 entities (either trees, rocks, or sticks.), so the forest has an edge (I tried to make it infinite, but I didn't have enough time).

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

This is great, hella bleak. The fire building mechanic is a great idea.

Bluebutton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice mood going on, couldn't actually figure out how to make a fire!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50pm

This almost feels like a minimalist "Don't Starve".Still a good job, I must say!

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51am

It was a very barren forest. It was so difficult to find sticks, which I only found 5 of. Berries weren't too hard to find. Great game otherwise.

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Very fun minimal "Don't Starve"-ish implementation. :) Great work!

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:55am

A good "minimal" idea, however it lacked a bit of polish: animation, better collision and more things to make it a bit more interesting.

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06am

Good interpretation of the theme. The graphics seemed a bit inconsistent; the fire was detailed and in-focus and the trees and character were blurred out. Some animation might have given this more weight.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:22pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

LemonTree says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:37pm

I like art style!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]