April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Molbert

by JawbonedHero - Jam Entry

Molbert is trying to find his way home, through a treacherous warren of bloodthirsty eagles and mysterious gems. Phase 3 types of gems in and out of existence to carry our mole hero home... or to his death!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#215Fun(Jam)3.05
#227Overall(Jam)3.27
#237Innovation(Jam)3.10
#304Graphics(Jam)3.05
#393Mood(Jam)2.56
#534Theme(Jam)2.24
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:05am

Holy moly (pun intended), the visuals are superb! I got stuck in the walls a few times and apparently you can die from jumping over the top of the screen. But in the end, it's a cute little platformer. The gem mechanic could be explored in a lot of interesting ways if the level design was more labyrinthine.

Good job with this one! :)

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Nice idea, I tended to get stuck on top of the diamonds a lot though - unable to move. But I had fun, congrats!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Great idea, art and puzzles. Congratz!

Mesene says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Nice entry! I wish it had sounds, at lvl 10 it gets better :D

john_conder9 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Level 13 was really confusing until I figured out what you had to do, and once I knew what to do it was still hard. But, I eventually had victory over that bald menace and won the game, yay!

This game suffers a bit from wall jumping and at one point no matter how many times I hit Q it wouldn't phase the red diamonds (on level 13 at that!) so I ended up having to restart the level. But those are minor points, overall this was pretty fun. It was begging for sound though!

Super fun game, great concept, nice execution: I love it!

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Very cute mole ^^ The mechanics are really fun. Great job!

Tainted_Code says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Was a great game, loved it!

GarethIW says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Once the gem mechanic clicked this got pretty good. The platforming itself needed a little tightening (collision detection was a little unforgiving), but that aside not bad!

acro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Takes a bit to get going but once all the mechanics come into play it's a fun platform puzzle / platformer. Nice artwork as well.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:39am

Some times when you die you get more jems than when you restart and one time my gems weren't reset. Also, I SWEAR the door for the last level wasn't there almost every time I checked. Maybe I'm going crazy?

It is a very good looking game however. I love Molbert's shades <3 And the mechanic is very interesting. One of my ideas for LD shared a similar mechanic :3

Good job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:15pm

I like the mechanic of the game. It makes for some challenges! Sometimes, the gems move and I created platforms that probably shouldn't exist, lol

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]