April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spread

by Typedeaf - Jam Entry

Find the fruits, spread the trees and enjoy the world.

Buttons:
Arrow keys - Move
x - Pickup/throw/open crate
space - Change to flight mode

Needs XNA 4.0 redistributable (included in rar file)

This game is very low on the gameplay and intended to be heavy on the atmosphere. Unfortunately, we ran out of time when adding the atmosphere so the air might not be entirely fit to breathe.

The balls are seeds, if they stay in touch with the ground long enough they become trees. Red and orange grow slow, white grows really fast, blue grows fast but is unaffected by gravity, so it's a bit tricky to make them turn into trees :)

Music credit of DST
http://www.nosoapradio.us/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#36Mood(Jam)3.84
#61Audio(Jam)3.74
#116Innovation(Jam)3.46
#163Theme(Jam)3.58
#168Overall(Jam)3.39
#199Humor(Jam)2.44
#215Fun(Jam)3.05
#262Graphics(Jam)3.24

Comments

metaldemon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05am

great game, the atmosphere is there! nice graphics fitting the theme, and my god! a physics engine! :D

spriters2000 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:30pm

i love the atmosphere! I spent much time enjoying it :)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I really want this to be a game so that I can play a lot of it. There was something really magical about the first time I picked up a ball and started rolling faster and faster :)

Whiteclaws says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27pm

The atmosphere is great , nice job :)

DST says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Really neat! Fits the theme nicely and plays well too!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Enjoyable music. One of the few games with some mood going!

May 1, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Very pretty. Loved the ball going fast, loads o' fun!

May 1, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Nice atmosphere and accoustics. But I just couldn't find out whether my actions had the slightest effect on the world. What are the crates for? I opened them, threw around the colored balls and nothing happened. I watched two trees for a while, they created more colored balls and still I had no idea what to do other than throw them around aimlessly.
I'd really like to see something actually grow, or even affect the world around me in some way, but have no idea how to achieve that. =/

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:31pm

@ShellfishGames the balls are seeds, if they stay in touch with the ground long enough they become trees. Red and orange grow slow, white grow really fast, blue grows fast but is unaffected by gravity, so it's a bit tricky to make them turn into trees :)

PPLo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Wooow ... I didn't understood your game, so I left the computer for a few minutes. Then I came back to my pc and ...
Tadaaaa! A whole forest was growing! Awesome!
I can't say that I understood everything, but I played a lot.
Good game, nice work on the mood.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Can't play, have a mac.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Cool music and concept. Good written =)

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Not very fun, b

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Not very fun at first, but the atmosphere is great, it's very nice when you realize things are changing

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:41am

Really nice ambient game, can see myself sinking a lot of time into this game without realising it. Really draws you in and hypnotises you. Nice work!

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:00am

Nice atmosphere, you guys should develop it more.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:12pm

The game is good overall. Even more when you start growing your seeds.

Notes:
* There is only one way to plant the blue ones. Pretty hard as well.
* I wish there were more seeds in the world. The world is fairly large.
* The white seed seems impossible. I had a time where one just rushed away from my screen as soon as I broke the box. Another time where I did manage to get it but after I tried to place it, it flew right away in opposite wind direction.
* I would take extra care on the wind controls. Either you need to give the play a hint on where the seeds are or something else.

Keep it up since it is a pretty good concept.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Really nice mood. The music is great. Good job!

Norgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Pretty and soothing! I love what you've made here, really satisfying to just plant some stuff and have it grow.

Robrock55 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I just... love this game. Everything is awesome in : the gameplay, the music, the trees...

SonnyBone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:45pm

LOVE the mood in this game! Great job on nailing the theme.

Felix20 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:56pm

I would love to see an expanded version of this, with some more things to look at, some added sound effects, and possibly some more gameplay elements this would be really neat.
I enjoyed this a lot, the lack of gameplay wasn't hindering it at all in my opinion.

ddionisio says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:13am

Really cool growth effect, I was able to just sit and watch things grow. The landscape felt a little to big at the beginning though and I manage to hit the end of the world...where there's a mushroom of some sort. Overall this game was a great experience.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:30am

Kind of a toy. Movement is slow, and the landscape is sparse. It does have nice atmosphere, but it's not very engaging.

May 9, 2013 @ 8:25am

i think it's cool that it's like a toy. that is the making of a good game, when it's just fun to play with it and not have a specific goal. I am actually thinking of making a game kind of like this (finding and growing seeds), so i'm stoked to see this game.

Binary Gambit says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:17am

Could not find a white or blue seed. Very enjoyable mood. Really needs some player direction on where to go next like a pointer to the next seed, at least until the player has planted one of each tree.

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:43am

Brilliant! Fun to roll around in, and to play with growing trees. I look forward to seeing how it gets expanded on!

pighead10 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Really good feel to the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]