April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Not Complex

by NuSan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Not Complex

Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated
- Confucius

Control :
Shift : jump
W-A-S-D : motion
Mouse left + drag : View
Space : Attack

You can fight with complexity or try to blend in the simplicity around you.

Tech wise, i have used THREE.js witch is good, but i have hard time with javascript. The rendering can be slow, so you can try to diminish the window size to improve that, and use Chrome. This LD48 has been very hard for me (i will add a timelapse later), but i hope the result is nice enough to have a little fun. Their is a counter of kill at the bottom.

Edit : I have updated the title and death screen to correct the translate issue with Maj/Shift. Original version is still available in the source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#39Graphics4.19
#316Innovation3.43
#447Overall3.27
#523Mood2.92
#603Theme3.49
#759Fun2.76
#1032Humor1.47

Comments

maxogden says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

loved the LOD/sprite animations

shama says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Really cool

Xellinus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Can't figure out how to jump. What's "maj"?
Other than that: Really neat. I like the deres effect on the graphics when you stop moving.

NuSan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Oups, sorry, maj is in fact "shift" (left), i was not thinking streight ... thank you for the comment

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

The voxeling is great! Dead impressed at the tech too! Shame about the controls, I find they make it impossible to play!

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

I really like the art style and the way the player forms a more complex shape as you move. Would love to see something like that in a fully fleshed out game!

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Great visuals! The rezzing/derezzing of the main character is hypnotic to watch. Control/walking feel could use some polishing.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Wow. You've done it again, NuSan. You have the best eye for aesthetics of any Ludum Darer in my opinion. Beautiful - congratulations.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

WTF i like that kind of game... not only because of the genre, the cool setting and all this great looking gfx... I like it because this is HTML5 and JavaScript! WTF! Great... Double bonus points

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Very cool. You made something great out there

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Wow first I want to say how much I love the look of this game. Completely original and kept me in the seat to want to figure out the game. Not a fan of how the controls are and the default isometric view in conjunction with it. Maybe its because the starting area has big holes in it. Ps. I didn't know what Maj, meant before coming back to this page.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Fantastic shader work and overall look, very atmospheric with a very interesting idea. Would he cool to see the minimization mechanic used to solve puzzles etc in the gameworld, there's some depth there to explore.

NuSan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

I dont realy understand the issue with controls, maybe im just too used to them. If someone could describe what is strange, it will be of great help. You prety much have to move the camera and use a "third person" style. Once thing i would like to add is a "mouse lock" feature, so you can keep control of the camera at all time.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Impressive entry!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24am

Woee really like the graphics very original! Controls were fine for me. good work :D

Krahe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:11am

Sweet animations- why on earth is shift jump / spacebar attack though? o.o

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:13am

Really nice little game, I liked the detail effect when i moved about, made it interesting. Would like to see more content. Nice work!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:05am

Really good job making this !

wzl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Nice work on the 3d rasterization/quantization(?!) :D Would love to see more gamplay with this though! Good work

May 2, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Fascinating idea.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:25pm

This is an amazing idea, should definitely be developed further. I liked the regenerate health mechanic. This could be a great beat-em-up and puzzle game (small movements to remain blocky without being seen). Absolutely blown away by the blocky characters, Well Done =]

May 5, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Impressive!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:37pm

My mind got really blown by the graphic style. It's truly unique and perfectly fits the them. There's also a lot of hidden work since this has been made in HTML5/Three.js, and is cleary not laggy at all.
Is there any specific goal in this game though? I still liked it a lot!

dertom says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Wow, great graphics! I really do love that, think the first three.js game I found on ld! Really great stuff! Some sound would have been nice, but I know 48h isn't much :D! Good job!

Taro Omiya says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:04am

Great graphics, but felt a little repetitive with combat.

MinionStudios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:06am

Wild looking mechanic! Fun to play!

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Looks really cool. Would like to see more expansion of the actual mechanics (complex - simple), right now I had no idea what was going on.

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:46pm

I like the graphics and effects! The idea of blending in with the area is cool.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]